timstwrt
maybe we should just have a baseball discussion and talk briefly about BC-Maryland at the end
percDM
we could talk about bc-maryland
since we actually have a chance to win
which, is ridiculous
timstwrt
but there's not all that much more to say....we could win because they suck too, but a lot of guys are hurt and fire spaz
percDM
yeah, that pretty much sums it up
i was surprised this morning at all the people calling game 6 a great game or even the best game ever
timstwrt
that happens a lot, though....it doesn't really bother me that people fail to distinguish between great and exciting
exciting is great
i don't need to see two teams playing the best game of their lives for it to be great
percDM
but they played terrible, sloppy baseball for like 5 or 6 innings
then it got awesome
timstwrt
but then it got super mega awesome
i hate everyone involved in it, but this morning i heard a replay of buck's call of the freese home run and got chills
percDM
yeah, that was really cool
timstwrt
do you start carpenter and have jackson ready to go or vice versa
i think i start jackson
percDM
i'd start carpenter
is the only reason not to start him his one bad start on three days rest?
timstwrt
in the only game he's ever started on three days rest in his career
percDM
i know
and he has had bad starts on longer stretches of rest
i think carpenter is your guy
what, he gave up 4 runs in 4 innings?
that's bad, but it's not the worst start ever
timstwrt
i guess that, w/r/t carpenter, you let him go through his normal pre-start routine since he's on shorter rest, and hope jackson can adjust when he inevitably comes into a 0-0 game with one runner on and two outs in the second
percDM
haha
you know, i'd love to manage a bullpen for a week
it'd probably be harder than i think
timstwrt
maybe harder than you think, certainly easier than larussa makes it look
percDM
yeah, i think it'd take some time to get used to
like, i feel like i make great decisions while watching the game
but that's always with little consideration of their workload prior to the previous day or two
theriot is leading off today
timstwrt
HAHAHAHAHAHA
that made my day
man, that tony larussa's just a baseball genius who sees all the angles
actually
maybe he is
theriot sucks at getting on base. if there's no one on base in front of pujols, it increases the likelihood of the rangers having to pitch to him
percDM
but if there is somebody on first, they'll pitch to him
timstwrt
maybe larussa's setting up a game plan where the cardinals win 4-3 on four pujols solo homers, while theriot goes 0-4 with four groundouts to the right side and wins MVP
percDM
hahah
bulster olney just described theriot as a more offensively oriented 2bman
i mean, i guess, if offensively minded puts you between darwin barney and aaron hill in ops
timstwrt
if you had to describe him as one or the other, i suppose he's more offensively oriented than defensive oriented
i consider him more utility oriented
percDM
this has got to be stressful
tony should kick back and have a few drinks before heading to the ballpark
timstwrt
maybe a tumbler of red wine
percDM
i guess the best thing to say about the maryland-bc game is that it could be exciting
timstwrt
exciting in the way that the first six innings last night were exciting
percDM
exactly...two broken programs looking to eek out another win on the season
timstwrt
what monumental gaffe might we see next?
i have a sneaking suspicion that edsall is one of two guys on our schedule that spaz can straight-up outcoach
percDM
the other?
timstwrt
TOB, not because he's a terrible coach necessarily but because spaz knows him so well
percDM
i'm scared spaz will find a new ultra-conservative way to blow the game
timstwrt
edsall seems really into talking about uniform combinations, which is not something i can imagine, say, bear bryant getting into
percDM
he is the only coach as likelyas spaz to describe the season as having the potential to get ugly
at least spaz was talking about the actual game of football
timstwrt
yeah, edsall's talking about mustard yellow pants with maryland red piping
percDM
are we really entertaining the idea of a bc victory?
timstwrt
i dare say i expect us to win this game
and then i remember that momah, harris, ramsey, KPL...are all out
but i still predict victory
because, why not?
percDM
so, you think we will hold maryland to 18 or less?
timstwrt
i've got BC 19.9997-Maryland 17
percDM
actually, against my better judgment, i also think it will be 19-17
timstwrt
what would you take: combined pitching changes tonight or maryland points tomorrow?
percDM
definitely pitching changes
how many arms does larussa have tonight
timstwrt
i heard him talking about how he still had some options left in the 11th last night....he was talking about the possibility of pitchers playing the outfield like a soldier talking about the beautiful foreign woman who got away
so i assume that at some point you'll see a battery of ryan theriot and charles lindbergh tonight
percDM
that'd be quite the conclusion to the world series
just a bunch of scrappers out there
scrapping
timstwrt
prediction there? i've got rangers 5-1
percDM
also rangers, but 4-2...and with no good reason for it
timstwrt
the theme of these conversations
go eagles, but more go rangers. please.
percDM
yeah, bring a little happiness to the weekend
timstwrt
and misery to tony larussa's liver
Friday, October 28, 2011
Saturday, October 8, 2011
Will BC Lose to Clemson by 4 Touchdowns or 5? The Great Debate
percDM early in the week, i thought we had about a 5% chance of pulling an upset in the world's friendliest rivalry due to a combination of harris, kuechly, and clemson being clemson. but, after the news about harris, i'd put our chances at 1%.
timstwrtthat's high
percDM it could be high
but i'm sticking to integerstimstwrt i just can't devise a scenario where we win...the unlucky team with less talent and worse coaches never wins.
percDMoh yeah, we aren't going to win
timstwrt is the clemson stadium off-campus?
maybe if their bus crashed?
percDM i believe it is on campus
timstwrt i guess a flu outbreak could happen
or allergies....indian summer's a motherfucker for allergies
but i'd imagine this is just normal fall for the south
nope, no scenario available
at least we've got our third string running back going
percDM is williams definitely not playing?
timstwrtdoubtful
which in football parlance means no
percDMand harris
he's not going
timstwrtdefinitely not
who could have seen him coming back for two games and then getting hurt coming?
that was me
i saw it coming
said so here
percDMyou are making me regret setting you up for that one
timstwrt i also said i'd be very angry
two for two on predictions that day
percDM what was the other prediction?
me: stay with me, champ
montel getting hurt, me getting angry
percDMlet's get the actual language
me: "i'm going to be so angry when montel plays two games this season and then gets hurt again"
pretty definitive
percDM alright, that is a 2 for 2
timstwrtoh!
i've come up with a scenario
well, not for winning, but for me being happy by the end of the game
frank spaziani follows in the footsteps of his hero, woody hayes (almost certainly not spaz's hero, what with all his penn state ties), and punches a clemson player
thus ending his coaching career
just like his hero
percDMand bc wins out and becomes bowl eligible
we'll still suck for the rest of the year
and he should be gone the day after the season is done
your scenario does nothing for me
timstwrt no, you're right...a 51-3 loss where our coach doesn't punch out the opposing team's kicker sounds way more entertaining
percDMwhat's your best case scenario for the game in the world of things that could happen?
timstwrt i'm thinking, because i'm trying to figure out my answer
best case scenario, semi-realistic edition: finch finds holes, BC controls the ball, clemson turns it over 3-4 times, freese hits a couple big field goals and we win 19-17
percDMoh, that's more than i was thinking
i was going to say that it was competitive at the half
but i think you're right that any scenario that has us winning has to keep them under 20 points
timstwrt a more vivid, certainly grislier question: what's the worst-case scenario?
percDMif we can't move the ball at all
we don't have the defense to make it look respectable
i could see a 48-3, or even 48-0 result
things look bleak
timstwrtwhat about our special relationship?
clemson wouldn't do that to us....they love mark herzlich too much
percDM ha, true. really, that worst case scenario doesn't even consider them trying to run up the score
what do you think will happen?
timstwrta quick tangent on that
because it may seem that this is fun
which...it's brutal. i love college football season, i love my school
and this is just the fucking worst, to have to go through this every week
and this will be one of those weeks, because we're going to lose 41-6
percDM leave it to me to be the optimist yet again
clemson 38, boston college 10
timstwrtwhat's the halftime score?
percDM21-7
timstwrt if i gave you BC +17 in the first half, would you take a $10 bet?
percDMi mean, i just said 21-7, so i guess i
i'd have to
timstwrt i think that would be foolish
but i will not root against my team
percDM i do expect clemson to come out flat
i just don't think we have the coaching or talent to make them pay for it
timstwrti'm going to try for a bright side
who's this week's kasim edebali? who will have a surprisingly good game in this bloodbath?
percDM i'd go with amidon
timstwrtspooky
as would i
but now i'll go with...chase rettig
just kidding
i'll take pantale
percDM is he still on the team?
timstwrt you'll know saturday afternoon, when he has five catches for 80 yards, mostly in the second half when clemson's playing their backups
percDMi can't wait
this season is soul crushing
and its not just the play on the field
its gene and spaz and everything around this football program right now
timstwrt and that, my friends, is where this post ends, not with a bang but a crushed soul
Tuesday, October 4, 2011
Gchatting the Eagles #10: Kubler-Ross Stage 4.5: Depressiony Acceptance, or Accepting Depression
timstwrt ok, where to begin?
besides #firespaz #firespaz #firespaz #firespaz #firespaz #firespaz
percDM i guess with the losing
timstwrt yes, there was more of that
percDMif my math is right, that was the fourth time this year
timstwrt (checking ESPN.com)
yes, that's correct
percDMwe were beat completely
outplayed and outcoached
timstwrt and yet had a chance to win
or a chance to be in a position to win
percDMyeah, we kept it close against wake
at home
any bright spots for you?
timstwrt freese!
he was awesome
the fact that he was on the field that much, not so awesome
i can't recall ever watching a football coach who has less faith in his football players than frank spaziani the last two years
percDMyeah, he seems unwilling to give them the opportunity to make plays
timstwrt i found myself imagining recruiting visits, with recruits hanging out with the players
"sure, we're losing right now, but at least our coach has absolutely no faith in us to ever execute a play successfully. come to BC!"
percDMyeah, i have to assume he's completely lost the team
and i don't see this season inspiring recruits to come here
but the thing about college football is that you don't need top notch talent to be competitive and win games
timstwrt which we've proved, over the last decade and a half
percDMexactly, coaching matters, and it can make up for talent deficiencies
this coaching can't
timstwrt for our token analysis of actually football, i submit the ridiculous number of WR screens we ran
a play that we definitely don't have the talent to run successfully regularly
percDMand never once a wrinkle on it
timstwrt i'm not hating on bobby swigert, but he's not devin hester
what is the point of this play? to gain three yards? you have the best RB in the conference to do that for you
percDMyeah, i couldn't understand it as a bread and butter play
and halfway through the third quarter i kept thinking, we are going to go deep on a fake wr screen
and it never happened
timstwrt ok
in defense of not going deep
rettig seems to have absolutely no touch beyond fifteen yards
he's just playing "500"
percDMbut if you never stretch the defense vertically, they can play up all the time
and that hurts the run and the wr screen
apparently our only two plays
timstwrt without momah, there's no one to go up and get rettig's "close your eyes and heave" passes
percDMcoleman is 6 4
and he looks faster than momah
timstwrt and committed one of two brutal first quarter penalties
percDMyeah, penalties dogged us in this game
but, we lost this game in an all-around fashion
timstwrt in the losses, we've averaged 8.5,3, 7.5, and 4 yards per pass atempt
percDMthat is terrible
that is on the playcalling, rettig, and the line
timstwrt so, easily fixable
on the brightish side, the defense was really pretty good
edebali especially was impressive
percDMedebali had a great game
but he was the only defensive lineman who played well
they had a lot of one-on-one matchups due to all the blitzing, but they still could not get in
timstwrt we brought the linebackers a lot, as we anticipated, to varying levels of success
percDMyeah, it didn't work great, but it worked better than when we didn't bring them
i know this isn't the defense of recent years, but i don't blame them for our losses
they haven';t played great, but they've played well-enough
timstwrt they've definitely played well enough to win each game....when your offense can't score 20 points, the margin is non-existent
percDMnot only is the offense bad, but it has no identity
if you asked a casual college football fan to describe bc's offense, all they could say is that it sucks
and don't they have that harris guy
timstwrt look, no one could say much of anything about BC right now. "is that the one that mario coaches?"
we're not a relevant football program
the highs of the last ten years never got high enough to offset this catastrophe
percDMon reputation, we still might be o-line u
timstwrt not if you watch five minutes of our offense
percDMyeah, this season just gets tougher to watch
even with harris back
its kind of like that movie with pacino and deniro that isn't heat
two big stars, but everything else is so bad you can't watch
can i hit a few coaching problems?
the offensive line seems confused often
timstwrt like, in their eyes?
you must have a better espn3 feed
percDMha...in their blocking assignments
i especially noticed it on one screen pass, that was perfectly set-up
but then vardaro was just standing out there, not blocking anyone
and the screen got blown up before it could go anywhere
timstwrt yeah, i remember that
some of that may have been the defensive scheme
but those things seem to happen with some regularity
percDMright
and i know vardaro is young
and he could have just made a mistake
but it felt like the most obvious missed block
and i want to blame that on coaching
my other issue: timeouts
what the hell?
timstwrt it's one of the areas spaz is most obviously terrible, and conveniently is probably the most infuriating thing a coach can be terrible with
percDM infuriating is the perfect way to describe it
i was glad i was watching that game alone, because i'm pretty sure the yelling at the tv qualified as a temper tantrum
timstwrt at this point, his firing seems like a fait accompli, but that may just be my impression from twitter
but looking at that crowd, knowing that it's only going to get worse....i don't think gene's going to have a choice
and everyone (myself included) wants mike leach....as long as "everyone" is people whose opinions are completely irrelevant
percDM can't we hire somebody not suited to the job from within?
timstwrt yeah, i think that's ryan day
here's my random suggestion whom i know very little about: UNH coach sean mcdonnell
UNH is a pretty successful 1-AA program
so, sort of like donahue
success on a smaller stage, experience recruiting the region
he coached at BC briefly at the beginnning of his career
percDMsure, i have no problem considering him
i'm not really at the speculation point yettimstwrt get thereit's going to be the only fun part of the next two months percDM
i just want to see spaz gone
and i'm not convinced gene shouldn't go with him
its not like we don't know something better isn't out there
i'll get there, but i want to know spaz is gone
i'm more #firespaz than #hireleach
timstwrt i'd say he's already acting and talking like a lame duck, but that's apparently just how he coaches
do you think our "special relationship" with clemson means they'll play backups on saturday?
percDMwould it matter?
Friday, September 30, 2011
Gchatting the Eagles #9: Wake Forest Preview: Win or Lose, Tanner's a Pretty Silly First Name
timstwrt
so, we didn't discuss umass
and i don't really have anything to say
i didn't watch the game live, so when i saw the score i was encouraged, but when i actually watched it...not so much
percDM it was a hard game to take anything away from we made some big plays, but they weren't pretty plays
it was nice to put up points, but i didn't see anything particularly encouraging
timstwrt no, the main takeaway for me is that division 2 football is not very good
percDMyeah, i think we have to still look at this bc team as the team that lost to duke
timstwrt it was nice to get montel a spring training game, though
if you're not going to redshirt him, the next best thing is to get his feet wet against a high school team
percDMyeah, i'll be interested in what kind of work load montel gets tomorrow
the line still looks bad, but montel has that way of getting past the first level
he makes the first guy miss in a way that williams simply can't
timstwrti think that a lot of BC fans, myself included, feel kind of torn at this point
each week, i want us to win
at the same time, everything about our program seems trending in the wrong direction
so the silver lining of losing is the possibility of blowing it up
percDMi guess i'm not as torn
i mean, i want spaz gone
and the program is trending in the wrong direction
but, a 1-11 season would be excruciating
its no fun to a watch a team that can't compete
timstwrtwhat's the spaziani line for the season
the number of losses that gets him fired
i think 8
percDMi was going to say 8
and really 4-8 is very likely
timstwrti don't really agree
4-8 seems optimistic
like, wildly
but, i'm also picking us to lose tomorrow
percDMby what margin?
timstwrt we'll get there
so
there seems to be a feeling that we're in the early-to-mid stages of a downturn
probably early
percDMthere is definitely that feeling
timstwrtthat's all, just noting that this is a terrible time to be a BC sports fan
percDM yeah, both football and basketball have more struggles on the horizon
BC finished the season ranked every year from 2004 through 2007
timstwrtthat was a while ago
percDMand this will be the fourth year in a row we won't be ranked
and this is our first losing season in a long time
timstwrt14 years
percDM i'd say we are in the middle stage of a downturnand its a significant downturntimstwrtanyway, wake forest probably sucks
but we're probably worse
percDMwake forst definitely sucksand we also suck i think we suck comparablytimstwrt here's why we're going to lose
i think tanner price is better than sean renfree
and renfree torched us
also, my perception may be colored by the fact that i watched bad news bears the other day, so i assume that tanner price is an undersized spitfire
percDMhaha
tanner price is having a good season
and if we don't get any pressure, he will pick us apart
timstwrtwe won't get any pressure
percDMbut, for all my trashing on spaz, he is a good defensive coach
and i think he is going to bring the linebackers more this game to get some pressure
we saw a few more linebacker blitzes against umass
and i think he was working them into the schemei think he knows he doesn't have the defensive line or the secondary to just rush fourtimstwrt ramsey's still hurt, and wujcak's out, so they'll have to bring the linebackers all day which, if i know, i bet jim grobe knows so get ready to see their tight ends pick up first downs
percDMobviously they will plan for it
but i have no idea what tanner price can do under pressure
timstwrt probably take hits and pop back up, if he's as scrappy as i think
percDM i'd rather go after him and force him to make plays under pressure, then sit back and let him pick us apart
timstwrteither way, we lose
although it looks like accuscore doesn't see our prospects so grimly
58% of the time we win percDMyeah, i saw that and i was shockedtimstwrti give us a 22% chance. they may have "computers" and "analysis," but i have "gut feelings" and "fear of mustaches," which, people may be surprised to learn, does not have a fancy phobia name percDM
i've been torn about this game all week
because these are two really bad teams
and i feel like bc is going to win, but i'm resting my hopes on spaz's coaching and i think i've made it quite clear what i think of his coaching
timstwrthow are we going to win?
percDMcliche number 1: cause turnovers
cliche number 2: get the running game going
but most importantly, i think chase needs to air it out...go deep against their weak secondary
timstwrtyeah, throw it up for momah
oh wait
so, those things aren't going to happen
and you're wrong
wake 34 BC 16
percDMwow, that's a beatdown
timstwrtyep
we're terrible!
percDMnobody thinks we are good
timstwrti think we go 3-9, beating NC state because it's the only coaching battle that spaz wins, and ND because they'll be poised for national relevance, and they love to fall on their faces when that happens
percDMwe've got some other potentially winnable games
which i didn't think 2 weeks ago
maryland looks weak, as does virginia
but back to this wake game
i'm going to pick BC
17-13
timstwrtis there a monsoon heading for chestnut hill?
that's rather low scoring
percDM i see our offense sputtering
but i also think spaz will have a really good defensive gameplan and wake doesn't have the players to overcome it
timstwrtmr. sunshine
i'll revise my pick slightly, to 34-23
hope i'm wrong
percDMi do too
timstwrtand we're envisioning wildly different games
percDM what are our point totals for the year?
timstwrt17,3,19, 45*
percDMwe don't score much
duke put up 20 on us
if we do have a good defensive gameplan, i think it's not ridiculous that wake would score one less touchdown than duke
timstwrta little insecure about your pick?
i like this...let your id out
it's not ridiculous, just incorrect
percDMi'm just having trouble envisioning these teams lighting up the scoreboard
i am envisioning a sad game
that leaves the fans wishing they had stayed at home
timstwrti believe it was tanner price who said, you can take your predictions and take your fans and shove 'em straight up your ass
but i could be wrong
also, that's the only quasi-quote from tanner price in that movie that doesn't involve racial slurs
tanner boyle, i mean. see!
percDMwell, i'm glad you are keeping the slurs off the blogtimstwrt go eagles, i guess.percDM
i won't be able to sleep tonight i'll be so amped
timstwrtESPN3 won't know what hit it
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)