Thursday, December 13, 2012

Boston College: Where The Only Good Coach Is The Next One

Note: This gchat happened over a week ago, but neither of us even considered posting the conversation because our excitement for this blog matches our current attitude towards BC's football and basketball programs. 


timstwrt: i've decided to be mildly optimistic
  because, why not?
  if he sucks, there'll be plenty of time to be pissy about it

percdm: yeah, i generally agree
i'd say the one thing i found out from bates was that addazzio had been on his list for years
  things had changed for bates and addazzio
  so was this really about the right fit for bc
  or the right fit for bates, and if so, maybe that's ok

timstwrt: that's the part that troubles me
  this would be a great hire for miami of ohio
  we're not miami of ohio

percdm: right
  but, i'll say this, he was an oc and a head coach
  which i think are things we wanted after dealing with a career dc as our head coach

timstwrt: a much-reviled OC, but yes
  and he
  s enthusiastic, which doesn't matter a ton, but more than nothing
  especially after spaz
i think i'm just tired of hating our football program, so hoping for the best is a pleasant alternative

percdm: yeah, i'm not riding high, but i'm fine with this choice
i believe that was my attitude with the jags hire
and that worked out well until it didn't

timstwrt: and, if nothing else, EDSBS will pay attention to us

percdm: true
  the media did a great job covering this coaching search
  media and blogs

timstwrt: is this the last time anyone has to pretend that bladschun knows anything?

percdm: we should have known better before
  but yeah
that means i can stop reading his typo-riddled blog
about half of his salary at the globe should have went to his editors

timstwrt: gone, if we're correcting usage
eagle in atlanta can resume his boyhood crush on ryan day

percdm: yeah, i noticed that
  but let it go and hoped you missed it

timstwrt: i started getting mopey about us running an unimaginative offense again, but i guess i kinda feel like that's the only way we'll ever win

percdm: i'm a little disappointed that way, there may be a lack of fresh blood

timstwrt: my mild optimism will start to leak if day and rogers and mcgovern are all back in town

percdm: i don't know why that would be the only way we'd ever win

timstwrt: because we can't recruit the skill position players to execute a high powered offense

percdm: but our most memorable seasons involved talented quarterbacks throwing the ball

timstwrt: one talented quarterback, and it was an anomaly

percdm: flutie and ryan

timstwrt: i'm not going to pretend that 1984 is similar to 2012 in the college football world

percdm: and with ryan, we didn't have a really good running back
callender was fine
  and a good receiver
  whitworth, as your remember, was an ok change-up back

timstwrt: i'm not saying don't recruit quarterbacks, i'm saying that marquise lee isn't walking through that door

percdm: what about jordan lynch?

timstwrt: we took the offensive line for granted, and now we know what it looks like when you don't even have that
 i have no idea what offense NIU runs

percdm: its a spread with designed qb runs

timstwrt: and although i'm delighted that they're in the orange bowl, i'm not sure we can learn applicable lessons from the MAC
 because we're competing against teams that will always attract more talent

percdm: i think a lot of offenses can win

timstwrt: kent state isn't a recruiting behemoth

percdm: i guess i'm not convinced the strategy to beat better talent is to line-up and go straight at 'em

timstwrt: if you can execute line play, it eliminates a number of variables
  i don't know what you're arguing for....i'm dealing with the reality of our football program for the forseeable future
  addazio isn't going to hire steve logan as OC
his offensive approach is a known quantity....and that quantity is "DIIIIIIVVE"

percdm: i'm arguing because you said that an unimaginative offense is the only way you can see bc winning
  i'm just saying, i dont think that's the case
  but, i do think you are right we will probably have an unimaginative offense
so it is super important that we try to re-sell O-line U

timstwrt: ok, i guess i mean that the foundation of a boring offense
  is our best path to success
  as always, i think the ceiling for BC is to be super-competitive most years, and then maybe once a decade get some breaks and crash the national title picture
like 2007
  which, fundamentally, i'm ok with

percdm: basically, a return to the pre-spaz era

timstwrt: i don't want to sell everything out for football
  which is what you have to do to be perennially relevant nationally
i'm fine with running a relatively clean operation that, if everything clicks, can make a run every once in a while

percdm: agreed, you have to look the other for academics, or for transgressions like sexual assualt
  other way
yeah, i agree with you. a quality team that is always competitive and occasionally relevant

timstwrt: the terribleness of the basketball team is far more troubling to me, because consistent basketball relevance is an easier path
  all you need is a good coach, which we don't have

percdm: i'm sorry, are you talking about the don?
his enthusiasm is contagious
  i know he is a good coach because he works the sideline with vigor
i'm not ready to can him, but i'm close
  he doesn't seem to be able to recruit enough talent
  and he can't keep talented guys on his roster
  remember how boring it was to watch skinner's teams win basketball games consistently?

timstwrt: yeah, i hated watching the flex, and going to the NCAA tournament every year
  that was the worst

percdm: watching a team play hard and compete all game long

timstwrt: if i were anyone playing BC in basketball, i would press for the first ten minutes, build up a 20-0 lead, and then coast the rest of the way

percdm: yeah, well, we will have to see what happens against good competition
  i don't think they'll have to press to build a lead like that

timstwrt: i'm saying, why leave it to chance?
  you get to practice your press, embarrass your opponent
  win/win
did you read the thing about donahue in the house organ, BC magazine?

percdm: i did not

timstwrt: he talks a great game...i can see how he'd be an awesome interview
  the only problem is that he doesn't seem to be very good at improving basketball players
it'll be interesting to see how hanlon develops, because i think he's good

percdm: he definitely sucks at coaching defense
  its hard to tell who is good on the team
  some guys show flashes
hanlon, clifford, anderson
but nobody stands out as awesome
  a lot of times, you can tell a freshman is going to be awesome...reggie jackson is a good example

timstwrt: i think anderson's pretty awesome
it's going to be sad when he transfers after BC loses 22 games again.

percdm: true, everyone does transfer
i think some of the sentiment regarding donahue is changing
the combination of the bryant and harvard losses seemed to have move some people
  until now, all we've heard about is how young the team is, and how he was left with no talent

timstwrt: it's been lonely work banging the "donahue sucks" gong, but someone's got to do it

percdm: its odd how much slack everyone seemed ready to give him
  as if bc was a broken program

timstwrt: in honor of the fifth straight loss to harvard, and in order to pat myself on the back, i found an email from the day he was hired
  where i said
  "Yeah, I mean, it's not hopeless or anything....his teams got better at Cornell. But he was still the coach the first seven years. It's sort of like the "There were no terrorist attacks under Bush after 9/11" argument. My point isn't that this is the worst hire ever or anything, I agree that we don't know. But this is the sort of hire I feared when we were talking about change for the sake of change. I hope he's a guy on the rise, who with major conference tools can make a jump. But with a slightly-over .500 career record and one tournament run, I'm skeptical. This is hardly an exciting hire."

percdm: bully for you
  i do think really good coaches turn programs around quickly
  in basketball
matt painter took a purdue program that had been to the tournament once in the previous 5 years and had them back in the tournament in his second season
  and every subsequent season
and he started nobody older than a sophomore in that second year
  meanwhile, donahue is in year 3 and can't beat harvard in 3 tries

timstwrt: the sophomores all stopped improving in like february of last season
  for a while, i thought and hoped i was wrong about donahue, because there was improvement from november to february last season
  but now, yuck
the one thing he had comign in was that he had just been successful at cornell. recruits now don't care about that, it was forever ago.
  all they know is that he loses all the time and everyone transfers
bring back al....he's not doing anything, since BC totally firebombed his reputation on his way out the door

percdm: that was a bullshit way to get rid of skinner
  but i don't think he'd come back
  i know he is still interesting coaching, but if i was him, i'd have no interest in coming back to bc
  i guess we have to give donahue through the end of the season until we have a fully informed opinion of him
  i think everyone else will give him through next year

timstwrt: i think you're right, but a change in AD always changes the expectations

percdm: yeah, we should be looking at successful mac coaches right now
  just so we know who bates will be considering

timstwrt: maybe there's a hot NAIA coach we can offer an eight year contract to