Thursday, October 11, 2012

Hiding In Plain Sight: A BC - Florida State Preview

percDM: donahue tweet: It was great meeting with Donahue's Disciples (@bookofdonahue) this morning. Look forward to working with them to increase student support!
i hope somebody suggested winning more

timstwrt: "so, coach, about team defense...are we going to play any?"

percDM: i really hope they're competitive this year

timstwrt: a comment on eagle in atlanta says that we're going to be wearing camo jerseys against FSU
which sounds awful

percDM: it sounds like we are trying to find as many ways as possible to be completely embarrassed on saturday
it's going to be a beatdown of epic proportions
maybe the camo uniforms will help
people in bars will not be able to recognize bc in the highlights
maybe we should play the rest of the season in non-distinctive uniforms

timstwrt: you may have stumbled into a brilliant idea....a way for us to actually camoflage the football team
it'd be like football movies where they don't get licensing from the NFL
like any given sunday
with believable color schemes for teams that don't exist
or
we could hew closesly to another team's uniform scheme

percDM: like a team we tend to recruit against

timstwrt: for FSU we should just copy oregon's uniforms
 "whoa, how did oregon get so slow and out of shape?"

percDM: i think that may be a bridge too far

timstwrt: assistants could hold signs on the sideline that have our actual plays diagrammed

percDM: i don't think it would matter this saturday
fsu is going to dominate the game completely

timstwrt: i think it'll be similarish to the clemson game for a while, where we move the ball at times and don't get completely smoked until the second half
it'll never feel like we have a chance to win the game, but it won't get embarrassing until late
and no one will be watching, because the nation's eyes will be on stanford-notre dame

percDM: in the clemson game we kept it a game, but i don't think this will ever feel like a game
but i agree that it won't get out of hand until late
i'm just worried that army exposed yet another hole in this bc team
and that's that the offensive line can't pick up a blitz
to keep the game close, bc is going to need to score, and to do that rettig will need to throw 40-50 times

timstwrt: well, as bears fans, we know that that's something that can be mitigated against
i've been moderately pleased with martin so far, so i think he can make some adjustments there
the problem is going to be the five straight super-conservative possessions to start the game before FSU goes up two scores and we start to air it out

percDM: how can you not understand that the run game is completely fixed?

timstwrt: i think spaz scripts the first fifteen offensive plays, and they're all counters

percDM: counters are a little tricky for spaz
that's martin's influence on him
and he has to lobby so hard just to get that

timstwrt: but then, we get down a bunch, and spaz wanders the sideline puffing on a cigar and listening to the new james patterson book on his iphone
and martin gets to throw deep

percDM: that's the dream
i've noticed just a bit of rumbling that martin is the interim head coach to get this team to 3-9

timstwrt: so chase will end up 28 of 55 for 311, two touchdowns and two picks
i think the interim head coach should be assigned on a game-by-bame basis, and should include contest winners

percDM: that's a much better plan than handing it to martin

timstwrt: might not be in the best interests of the "student-athletes," but neither was hiring the current staff
can't be worse

percDM: i don't think spaz will get canned until the end of the season, but if he does, i don't want martin in the mix for the new job solely because the team saw slight improvement

timstwrt: he won't be, no matter what
this isn't west virginia
bates is going to want a clean break with the past

percDM: i hope so
i don't even want a coach with a mustache

timstwrt: if we lost the next four in a row, i think spaz gets fired before notre dame
in a desperate ploy to rally the troops for one big W

percDM: that would make at least 1/3 of our fan base content with the season

timstwrt: it would make me content with our season, if ND is undefeated at the time. bad enough to get a terrible coach fired, good enough to ruin someone else's dream season? sounds like my ideal 2012 season in review
spaziani's awful. had he somehow stumbled into 8 wins this year, it would have set BC football back a decade
now he's only set it back like five years

percDM: yeah, but if he could have stumbled into 8 wins, he would be an entirely different coach
he is bad at most aspects of head coaching, maybe all aspects

timstwrt: is visor-wearing an aspect?
 he's good at that
i can't wear a visor, so he's one up on me there

percDM: and it is one hell of a mustache
that's very football coach

timstwrt: i can send the punt team out in a timely fashion on fourth and four from my own 8, so we're even

percDM: i would love to know how that happened
where the thought process or communication broke down
because it's almost impossible to understand how you could screw that up

timstwrt: god forbid anyone ask him at the press conference....instead it's a bunch of not-so-subtle "what's it feel like to be about to be fired?"

percDM: i'm sure he would have said that the punt unit just needed to execute running on the field better
he uses lack of execution to explain everything

timstwrt: yes, he would have said that. and i would've said, "but, coach, i was sitting about twenty yards directly behind you, and i saw you standing with the punt team on the sidelines, not telling them to run onto the field"
and he'd say "i was telling them to execute. they chose not to. it's their team. whatever."

percDM: maybe he cares too much
and that's why he puts up the wall of indifference

timstwrt: because his heart is breaking?

percDM: the man has a huge heart
i don't know if you know this
but he once brought lunch to the staff
i forget what staff, maybe the maintenance crew

timstwrt: yeah, i believe it was the janitors

percDM: nick saban sleeps 1.5 hours a week and does so in the video room
spaz brings lunch to the janitors

timstwrt: shit, i don't want nick saban either
can we just get a respectable human being who isn't afraid of a passing attack and knows how to manage a game effectively?
this shouldn't be so hard

percDM: i'd take 2 of those 3
mainly, i'd prefer an offensively minded head coach

timstwrt: a lament for another day. what's your prediction?

percDM: 45-17

timstwrt: i've got 45-17 seminoles
wow
uncanny

percDM: fsu comes out angry and we shrink against superior talent and coaching

timstwrt: is that all they have on us?
let me revise my pick

percDM: it should be tough to watch

timstwrt: but at least our players will be hard to see

No comments:

Post a Comment