percDM:
Last night, Gene came to Chicago. It
was a pleasant evening for all, with the only tense time coming from your
question and the subsequent back and forth.
i'm sorry, the only tense time besides the BU-inspired lacrosse question
timstwrt: and "when are we going to get a neutral site hockey
game in chicago, so that the fifty people in this room can go to a game?"
percDM: gene had to take that one seriously because it came from a
trustee
which is how we got to the
discussion of a neutral site game with ND at MSG
which would never happen in league play
one question that was selfish in
nature that led to an interesting answer was "When we will see more
football games scheduled against teams like Notre Dame and Northwestern?"
now, the guy asking loses points for not knowing about the
series with ND
but, it got interesting when Gene
said that we won't play teams like northwestern because with 9 ACC games and
ND, we need two games we can win
that makes sense, but its disappointing for two reasons
1. our program has fallen to the point that we can't expect
to beat northwestern
2. we're going to play two incredibly
bad teams every year, and we won't get anymore interesting matchups like
northwestern and Stanford
timstwrt: it doesn't really bother me
i think it makes sense
he can't control the conference schedule
percDM: i'd just prefer one easy game
timstwrt: i don't think it's just a "bad teams"
thing....we also need the home games
we can get home-only series with teams like umass
that's revenue
percDM: yeah, but games against umass and toledo aren't going to
pack the seats
but i guess i couldn't complain
about an ooc schedule that was nd, army, and umass
what was your number 1 takeaway from
last year's football season? apparently gene's was that our players weren't
physically or mentally tough enough.
timstwrt: but that he addressed the #1 concern....strength and
conditioning coach
i did not expect Jason Loscalzo to
be the fall guy for our terrible football team
percDM: to gene's credit, he did make it clear that football's
performance was unacceptable
and he did say coaches should be evaluated after 3 or 4
years
something that struck me was how
much the people in the room had embraced the cupboard was bare arguments for
football and basketball
timstwrt: if you don't follow it that closely, you probably just
believe it
percDM: what was the most interesting part of the night for you?
timstwrt: the non-denial of the heslip story...it'd be very easy for
him to say, "no one told him he couldn't play in the ACC," but
instead he just said, "he and steve had a meeting." that tells me
that the story's true, and donahue really fucked that situation up
back to the stupid lacrosse question, which was stupid
what sort of alum cares about his
alma mater having lacrosse? i understand why a 17 year old lacrosse player
might want BC to have D1 lacrosse, but why would a 27 year old alum care?
percDM: regular season lacrosse games trump tournament hockey
games
at least they do on espnu
timstwrt: "this is the most pressing concern for our athletic
department, despite the horrible records we have in revenue sports"
percDM: yeah, what a waste of a question
especially since there were only like 10 questions allowed
i feel like we should have had to
submit our questions in advance
defilippo was engaging last night,
and he didn't seem to shy away from tough questions. however, a few things
stood out to me:
1. he made this big long speech
about how college basketball attendance and ratings are down and he is worried
for the sport, and then when asked about bc attendance, he said it was up
i watched quite a few bc home games this year, and conte
forum was dead
2. in response to your heslip and
ravenel question, he said, "Don't believe what you read in the papers; believe
what I'm telling you."
if we were there to be dicks, we
should have interjected with a question about the health of rogers
timstwrt: as always, gene was personally very engaging and likable.
and he bashed uconn, which is always welcome. it's amazing to me that the head
football coach was literally not mentioned once, by anyone. he's like the
alcoholic uncle whose existence no one wants to acknowledge
No comments:
Post a Comment