timstwrt: so i was trying to find out if colter was playing earlier and, feeling lazy, just typed "colter" into google
came up with john colter, a member of the lewis and clark expedition
and, according to wikipedia, the "first mountain man"
i don't know who the current mountain men are
but then i decided to google "rettig," to do a head-to head search comparison
for him, it's the kid from lassie
so, by that metric, we're probably going to get killed
long story long, i still don't know if colter's playing
or playing QB, i guess
percDM: wow, that is a lot of information
current mountain men are clearly west virginians
mountain men have a long and storied history of lighting their furniture on fire
timstwrt: well, at least they're holding up their end of a dignified legacy....that guy also "discovered" yellowstone
do you know where on the field kain colter will be playing tomorrow?
percDM: according to wikipedia "Mountain men were ethnically, socially, and religiously diverse, fitting no ready stereotype."
so, not west virginians
i have no idea
but either way, the northwestern offense will look the same
they somehow manage to just plug in quarterbacks and the offense keeps working at the same level
timstwrt: i watched the last ten minutes of northwestern-syracuse waiting for coverage to switch over to the BC-miami game, so i'm confident in saying that the final score will be 77-70
percDM: yeah, i also expect a high scoring game
over the past few years, northwestern has shown they can score on anybody
and stop almost nobody
timstwrt: but, also, miami getting defenestrated last weekend killed my "we might be ok at football" buzz
percDM: yeah, although i really do think we were caught off guard by that incredibly fast freshman running back
timstwrt: i'm told northwestern's defense played well against vanderbilt. although, if northwestern plays vanderbilt in football, does it make a sound?
percDM: it doesn't, but both northwestern and vandy are better than their traditions and fan bases
i'm worried about the game
like you said, the miami game, while exciting at times, does not inspire confidence
timstwrt: i'm so used to us being terrible at this point that i was a little surprised to see that we're only getting 4 points
and, despite saying that, i fully expect us to win and will be crushed when we don't
fandom's complicated
percDM: complicated and universal
i feel the same way
timstwrt: also complicated: the ways that BC can be bad at football. rettig's good, the defense sucks? topsy-turvy.
percDM: rettig looked really good
and i liked the offense during the miami game
it was more wide-open, and they took some more chances
timstwrt: the pick he threw right to the linebacker on the slant wasn't great
(i guess we're just forgetting the maine game happened)
percDM: i'm fine with interceptions if we are throwing that much
the maine game can't tell you anything
except all of our running backs like to fumble
looking at the offense, the passing game has looked good
timstwrt: yeah, but i already knew that from the miami fumbling
percDM: but the running game looked weak against miami
i think that finch has to be the primary back because he is actually a threat to break a play
williams is powerful, but he doesn't even try to pick a hole
timstwrt: deuce is #1 on the depth chart, right?
what i don't know about football i make up for in knowing nicknames
percDM: yeah, and kimble is second
kimble is a nice receiving threat, but hasn't proven much as a runner
timstwrt: that williams million-yard game in the carrier dome seems a lifetime ago
percDM: yeah, that game made it seem like we'd get through the harris injury without too much of a drop-off
obviously, everything worked out just fine there
timstwrt: for everyone involved!
poor montel
i've resolved this season to not comment on the head coach
i don' t believe he'll be the coach any longer than the end of the season no matter what happens
so it's worthless
percDM: that sentiment is fine for now
and i didn't think that coaching was the cause of our loss to miami
timstwrt: no...you can't coach up turnovers
there's no "hold on to the ball, tahj" scheme adjustment
percDM: but coaching will matter in this game though
because we know we aren't going to shut down northwestern
so, we need to score, which might mean taking some chances
and not always settling for field goals
timstwrt: the defense has shown us almost nothing, and i'm not sure they can get much better
certainly not by tomorrow
percDM: no, and again, it's hard to fix tackling when it becomes a problem
yelling wrap him up can only go so far
timstwrt: here's the optimistic perspective on that and the fumbling. the overall sloppiness of the miami game
it was the first game
percDM: and don't forget amidon and spiffy dropping passes
timstwrt: normally you make those mistakes against maine and not a conference opponent (great scheduling, soon-to-be-departed AD!)
percDM: ha
yeah, i buy into the first game thing a little
timstwrt: spiffy seems like maybe he just drops passes? he feels like that kind of receiver to me.
percDM: could be
he also isn't a returner
timstwrt: not so far
percDM: but he's not a bad receiver, just has some issues with drops
timstwrt: there's a reason he went to BC
besides kuechly, we don't really get perfect football players
all that said
who do you like?
percDM: clearly, i'm biased, i like bc
i think it'll be a close game
timstwrt: will they win because we'll be in attendance?
"don't let us down in front of those assholes" - spaz
percDM: i can't think of any more concrete reason to claim they're going to win
we're the underdogs, but only by 4, and they're at home
obviously the linemakers aren't overwhelmed by northwestern either
i was just about to say something ridiculous about turnovers, but stopped myself at the last second
despite our lack of quality game management over the past four years, i think we'll pull it out late
what do you think?
timstwrt: score?
percDM: BC 34-28, and i yell at spaz for kicking at least one of the field goals
timstwrt: i feel similarly...lassies 38- mountain men 34
percDM: i think we need this win to end the season bowl eligible
before the season started, we we re talking
and i ranked the games by bc's chance of winning
1. Maine
2. Maryland
3. Army
4. Wake Forest
5. NC St
6. Miami
7. Northwestern
8. Georgia Tech
9. Notre Dame
10. Clemson
11. Florida St
12. Virginia Tech
you said you'd flip nc state and wake, as well as fsu and vatech
timstwrt: i recall
percDM: after losing to miami, i don't see much of a chance of us getting to bowl eligibility without this victory
timstwrt: does maine even count towards eligibility?
percDM: yeah, 1 fcs team counts
timstwrt: what a joke
percDM: if you play 2 like the fightin TOBs did a few years ago, only one counts
timstwrt: that's right
speaking of people soon to be looking for work....
percDM: maybe we'll see spaz, tob, and jags all hanging out in the stands for a bc game next year
timstwrt: by the end of 2012, tom o'brien, gene defilippo, frank spaziani, AND jim calhoun may all be unemployed! who says we're not better off than we were four years ago?
No comments:
Post a Comment