Friday, October 11, 2013

BC-Clemson Preview: Groza Fever


timstwrt
i can't find a way to talk myself into a BC win...but i think a cover is likely
24.5 is a big number
the rest of my analysis of this game can probably be found re: FSU
awesome quarterback, better athletes everywhere
i mean, clemson could win the national title

percdm
oh yeah, bc is going to lose
and probably by a wide margin
the only question is how bad of a loss will it be, and how will clemson respond to the things bc actually did well against fsu
i'm curious to see if williams and the offensive line can move the ball as effectively as they did on fsu

timstwrt
prediction: no
there's no reason for clemson to do anything other than stack the box

percdm
i agree with that, but that was true of florida st too
i think you are right that clemson will be much more effective against the run, but i'm interested to see how they'll do it
and if that could actually open up some opportunities for amidon
because you know clemson will focus on taking him away on passing downs

timstwrt
amidon has averaged 32.5 YPG against USC/FSU
he's a non-factor
he's good, but the team around him isn't good enough to take any secondary attention away from him

percdm
yeah, there is no other receiver who is even remotely a threat
basically, i just want to see that the offense is putting pressure on a quality defense
and i'm hoping that clemson focusing on williams will open up some first or second down action for amidon

timstwrt
that's a good point
ryan day needs to step his game up
i don't want to tell him his business, but first down play fakes are not against NCAA rules

percdm
not even for bc? that does not match up with my fan experience
also, sammy watkins is going to torch the defense, right?

timstwrt
yeah, the secondary hasn't shown anything...it's going to be a big day for him
and tajh boyd highlights from tomorrow are going to be playing in new york during the heisman ceremony

percdm
it's always nice to get some post-season attention

timstwrt
speaking of, my plan for tomorrow would consist of getting nate freese the ball
some 55-yard tries maybe
go all in for the groza

percdm
you sound ready to start a billboard campaign
which would be awesomely sad

timstwrt
it's not every year that you can have a player join a list of the greatest names in college football history
judd davis
seth marler
bob stumwell
art carmody

percdm  
names etched in the memories of all college football fans

timstwrt 
i only made one of those up

percdm 
there is no way i could guess which one

timstwrt
and it's not interesting to do so, it's bob tumwell

percdm 
but a kicker in the nfl counts as a skill position player, right?
that'll pad the numbers a bit

timstwrt
the 2007 groza winner, thomas weber, never made an NFL team
there's got to be a story there
a really, really boring story

percdm 
all of me wishes you were not looking any of this up right now
you are just a closet groza award historian

timstwrt
thomas weber's parents are like, "well, here's what happened to tommy...never mind, no one cares about kickers"

percdm 
poor tommy, and his parents
because every now and then a kicker or punter could write something for deadspin and become a mini-celebrity

timstwrt
i see clemson 38, BC 15. five field goals and a cover

percdm 
i'm less optimistic
all-around, including freese's groza performance
clemson 45, bc 20

timstwrt
less optimistic than a 23 point loss where BC doesn't score a touchdown is off the optimism spectrum
i'm not even sure how you construe that as less optimistic
other than the spread, the difference between losing by 23 and losing by 25 is nothing4:03 PM
in your version, we score two touchdowns
that's exciting

percdm 
i think it'll be exciting for a quarter

timstwrt 
maybe one of them cuts it to 10-7 at the end of the first....that's good stuff!

percdm
i just don't think we will even cover

No comments:

Post a Comment