Saturday, September 28, 2013

BC-FSU Preview: The Weekend's Most Important Questions


timstwrt
will walt jr. and skyler survive?

percdm
That's a great question. I think so, but I'm not sure
Which is also how I feel about jesse
What do you think?

timstwrt
holly is the only one i'm almost certain survives
marie would be next
i think skyler's in trouble
walt jr. i have no idea
everyone else probably dies
everyone wants jesse to survive, so he probably won't

percdm
The thing is, the family doesn't have to die for walt to lose them and fail them

timstwrt
it seems like the only punishment left for him, though

percdm
Jesse has to kill walt or die because walt couldn't save him
Right?

timstwrt
i think that jesse killing walt would be the most satisfying ending for me

percdm
But knowing that he completely faile them and that they completely reject him should be punishment enough on that front
Yeah, jesse killing him is compelling and probably satisfying

timstwrt
i don't know....walt jr. dying is probably the most excruciating thing that could happen to walt at this point

percdm
Walt jr dying because walt was trying to save jesse would be interesting
Jesse has suffered a lot, but he has also done a lot of bad shit
I know we are all rooting for him, but why?
Would jesse commit suicide in an attempt to save brock?
The more I think about it, everyone dying is too neat of a bow to put on it

timstwrt
i had the same feeling on why are we rooting for jesse, but then realized that it's just slate contrarianism
the only person jesse actively killed was gale, and that was to save walt
otherwise, his bad shit is all around the use and production of drugs
he also is the only person left with a defined moral compass
i certainly don't think he _deserves_ to live, but i think there's a clear reason to root for him

percdm
He does feel bad about the things he has done, which speaks to a moral compass
But maybe walt is just better at compartmentaizing
That's kind of bullshit...walt doesn't feel bad

timstwrt
no, he's pretty solidly unrepentant
i would not anticpiate that changing

percdm
Not everyone has to lose, only walt does, right?

timstwrt
well, and the nazis

percdm
I feel like everything shouldn't be final in the finale
Why do the nazis have to lose? They're just criminals being criminals

timstwrt
the show's about consequences, so the nazis aren't going to just get away with their reign of terror and continue building a meth empire

percdm
I mean, they're ruthless and their nazis, so we hate them
But wouldn't a ruthless nazi meth empire be a huge consequence of walt's actions?
Ruthless nazi meth empire is one of the most enjoyable phrases I've ever typed

timstwrt
but that assumes a walt-centric universe
i guess i could see todd living and becoming the new heisenberg, but the rest of the nazis are definitely doomed

percdm
I partially agree with the walt-centric universe sentiment
But my problem is that if everyone gets their come uppance in the finale, then its too tv show

timstwrt
well, it's a tv show

percdm
Then bad in the world of breaking bad is vanguished, and what we watched was merely a bubble of evil that collapsed on itself

timstwrt
i agree that everything shouldn't tie up neatly, and won't
i don't think that that'
s true
lydia works for a global corporation
bad is everywhere
some nazis getting destroyed by a machine gun doesn't equal happy ending

percdm
I think lydia is going to die

timstwrt
probably

percdm
I mean, it'll feel at least a little satisfying

timstwrt
it's weird, and a testament to the show, that you think an outcome where everyone is killed would be too pretty an ending

percdm
Ha, yeah
If walt's actions have lingering consequences, then he has a legacy (at least somewhat)
And having a legacy is something he desired
so I guess someone usurping heisenberg would rob him of that
Sorry, my thoughts are heading tangential
If it wraps up more neatly, then all he did had no lasting impact on the world at large

timstwrt
right

percdm
And he ruined the lives of everyone close to him, including himself
Could it end with walt once again defeating all of his criminal foes, but clearly having lost his family
King of an empire that will die with him

timstwrt
no, he dies

percdm
You think he has to die violently?
Or at least at the hands of someone else?

timstwrt
no
just die
the show has been about walt's impending death

percdm
Yeah, you are right, he has to die

BC is going to reveal the name of the eagle, which should be the most suspenseful part of the gameday festivities

timstwrt
We’re going to lose…huge

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Oh, Right...The Cupboard's Bare


percdm
that game went exactly as we predicted it would before the season started and not at all how we predicted on friday

timstwrt
i have a couple of thoughts
first of all, it was disappointing, but not angering
they have better players
and, you could (i will) pretty much give addazio a pass for this year, because he wasn't inheriting much
but the end of the first half was a nightmare
and it wouldn't have changed the outcome, because of the aforementioned talent disparity
but what a coaching clusterfuck

percdm
no, it would not have changed the outcome, but it would have changed the complexion of the game for a while
the sound was on at the bar i was at, but i have no idea what transpired

timstwrt
constantly killing the coach is tiresome. i'm tired of it. but the players are totally overmatched in that setting, and the coach needs to be at his absolute best. addazio was not
so, that may have been revealing, or not

percdm
it seemed like pre-fumble, it made sense to use the timeouts after 2nd and 3rd downs
i don't know how the fumble would change that

timstwrt
it should not have

percdm
we agree that the talent disparity was the driving force in the game, but i want to touch on some more of the coaching
the offensive was ridiculously predictable, and it wasn't working. usc stacked the box and shut down the run, but every first down was yet another running play
i have no problem with calling 50 run plays against wake forest or uconn, but when its not working, it's not just going to magically start working by doing it more

timstwrt
i go the other way on this
well, kinda
i don't like the offense, but i knew i wasn't going to like the offense
we knew what we were getting
the rushing every first down was a problem, and they need more variety
but it's understandable to a certain degree that you're trying to get your team into manageable second and third down situations on the road against a more talented opponent
if USC was poised to crumble, it would have been due to not giving a shit
the way to dial into not giving a shit is to make them work until they pass a point of caring
it didn't work, but it's not stupid

percdm
i get that BC is going to be a run first team under addazio, and i get that he wants to get to manageable 2nd and 3rd downs
but when it is clearly not working, you have to try something else
and against a talented defense like usc's, variety is essential

timstwrt
i feel like "try something else" means that you're paying lip service to the talent disparity
our quarterback isn't good
we have no depth
it's not like they ran the ball all the time despite having teddy bridgewater under center
rettig can't make the throws

percdm
no, the talent disparity we expected was on full display, and i know that bc lacks playmakers and depth
but, lining up 3 tight ends and running right at 11 guys in the box on first down when those guys are superior athletes is never going to work
unless its some kind of triple option attack

timstwrt
i'm not sure what alternative you see. the game was over when marquise lee was sprinting up the sideline in the second quarter
the rest is window dressing
again, i don't like the offense, but get used to it. this is what we signed up for.

percdm
i disagree, things like that touchdown are going to happen when you blitz a lot. the game wasn't over until the third quarter
its not just that the offense is boring, i'm fine with boring, if it is effective
we were both al skinner fans

timstwrt
you're out of your mind
there was no way we could play from behind in that game and win
nothing was going to be effective

percdm
the usc offense didn't start to own the bc defense until late in the third quarter, when teh defense was exhausted from being on the field all game

timstwrt
BC wasn't a couple of adjustments away

percdm
i'm not saying bc was a couple of adjustments away, but it wasn't over until it was a three score game
regardless, that's not the point
the point is that the offense is bad...or at least not capable of competing with a talented defense

timstwrt
USC had 230 yards of offense in the first half, 280 in the second
but if the offense is bad, then you have to go with your strength
which is williams, and maybe amidon on screens
but the latter is going to get blown up against super talented teams

percdm
the offense ran 23 plays in the first half
and 27 plays in the second half

timstwrt
what is your point?

percdm
i don't think going williams first was the way to go
he had 17 carries for 38 yards, that's 2.2 yards a carry

timstwrt
17 carries isn't even that many
rettig completes fifty percent of his passes against wake, and you want them throwing all over the coliseum
it would've been 52-7
BC ISN'T GOOD ENOUGH
that's the headline
the rest of this is complaining about the strategy for the sake of conversation
better strategy and they could've lost 35-14
or 52-7
hard to say which way that cuts

percdm
but they're going to play other teams with talented defenses that maybe aren't as talented as usc's

timstwrt
and lose

percdm
is the gameplan going to be williams on first down

timstwrt
because they aren't very good
spoiler alert: that's how this goes
i'd like to see some more playaction on first down, but the QB hasn't shown me that it's going to be particularly effective

percdm
early in the game, they rolled out rettig and hit amidon for one of his two catches, that looked like something to go back to

timstwrt
the best case scenario for this season remains the same as it ever was: beat the four teams we're better than, hope to squeak out a couple of wins that we shouldn't and go to a bowl game

percdm
at some point, i would have liked to see more targeting of amidon, even if usc was focused on shutting him down
it's frustrating to watch them stack the box and completely shut down the run, and then be able to key on amidon on clear passing downs
but, you are right, the solution there is in more talent

timstwrt
yes, it's frustrating. the reason it's frustrating isn't because BC isn't being clever enough
*but the reason

percdm
but lesser teams do beat better teams by being more clever sometimes. they rarely knock off more talented opponents by trying to run right over them

timstwrt
two weeks until FSU....maybe addazio will implement the spread

percdm
if he wants to try to be competitive, he should implement some interesting plays
i'd settle for an end around, since he'll apparently have to keep it on the ground
at least give me this: amidon, as the best offensive player, should rarely, if ever, come off the field

timstwrt
sure...i'd be fine with him under center and running the read option
if you want to get "interesting"

percdm
that might have been more effective
anyway, you are sticking to 5-7 on the season? i am, i don't think anything has changed appreciably since before the usc game

timstwrt
maybe addazio can create a whole new roster with his mind

percdm
isn't that what being a dude is all about?

timstwrt
speaking of terrible BC offense, did you know that doug martin is the head coach at new mexico state?
how the fuck does that happen?
he must be an incredible interview

percdm
yeah, also, it's new mexico st
although, that'd be a potential loss on our schedule with a different coach

timstwrt
definitely does not matter...he went 29-53 as kent state head coach, then coach an abysmal BC offense to 2-12...that's a trajectory to FCS coordinator, not FBS head coach
he and kiffin could run cults

percdm
if i had to choose one, kiffin's would be more exciting 

Friday, September 13, 2013

A Hero Rises from the Ashes to Defeat an Unstable Villian with a Punchable Face


timstwrt
i hated almost everything about the frank spaziani era, almost from the moment it started, but i never really hated him. i can't imagine what it would have been like if, in addition to being a terrible coach, he was a smug, failing upward asshole with the world's most punchable face.
i don't know what made me think of that...who are we playing this week?

percdm
i have no sympathy for the kiffin haters among the usc faithful. maybe it's because the wounds of the spaz era are too raw, or maybe it's because they're usc
i'm 90% sure it's because they are usc

timstwrt
150%

percdm
he really has that program in an enjoyable kind of disarray
who would have thought even a week ago that we'd be talking about this being a winnable game for the eagles?

timstwrt
at this point, it would seem shocking if we lose (this is not remotely true)
it's not that they lost to washington state, a terrible team
but they scored 7 points!

percdm
and as i saw noted somewhere, it's not like washington st did anything special or played out of their minds
usc just let wsu's shitty defense shut them down

timstwrt
well, they are platooning quarterbacks
which has a long history of success in college football

percdm
platooning quarterbacks is a totally viable option
in video games
despite the fact that usc seems to be imploding, there is still a strong argument that they should win this game
they are more talented, and they are playing at home after a disappointing loss
they should be really amped up to play a game they previously would not have been particularly amped up to play

timstwrt
i don't think they do "amped"

percdm
you don't think the team will rally around their coach, and come out with something to prove?

timstwrt
has anyone anywhere ever rallied around lane kiffin?

percdm
i mean, the bc players never did it for spaz, but i hear that happens at the college level

timstwrt
well
the BC players seemed to like spaz, but were unable to rally around him because they were recruited by spaz
the USC players are talented, but they probably hate their coach and don't have a quarterback
since we still have those same spaz players, this feels like a tossup
i would expect USC to win 24-13

percdm
yeah, the spaz era recruits are what have me concerned

timstwrt
which i guess is not a tossup in any sense

percdm
i have a much closer game and a diferent outcome, 17-16 BC

timstwrt
the BC defense has been good for the better part of seven quarters
i said i would EXPECT a different outcome....i will be picking BC 16-13
because why not

percdm
haha, that's a good reason
i agree that the defense has looked good, although it was against villanova and wake forest

timstwrt
my main concern is a USC special teams or defensive score...just some fluke play where we get reminded that they have a lot more talent

percdm
back to the defense for a second, wake forest looked like a rec league flag football team that instituted the option 20 minutes before the game...so it is hard to judge exactly how effective the defense is
but they have looked good, and they snatched up the turnovers when the opportunity presented itself
i too am worried about usc's talent, especially on defense
this is the real test of the offense, especially since only wiliams and amidon have stepped up so far

timstwrt
i expect one terrible rettig INT, probably on a pass to the outside where someone in the USC secondary cuts in front of it
leading to the aforementioned defensive TD

percdm
i think that is the kind of thing bc can't let happen
because i think with the aggressive defense we play, usc will get one big offensive touchdown
and i don't see bc scoring a whole lot of points

timstwrt
there are two things i learned from the internet relating to things we've discussed
USC has picked a QB, and it's kessler
and their players held a players-only meeting on sunday, and marquise lee made it clear to the media that kiffin didn't know about it, and wasn't invited
so i stand by my lack of rally

percdm
fair enough, i knew kessler had been deemed the starter, but i'm still not sure if that means both qbs won't play

timstwrt
knowing kiffin, it probably means he's in for the first play before giving way for wittek

percdm
maybe the players meeting was about rallying around each other...i expect the trojans to be fired up
but just one big bc play or one usc mistake could devastate them

timstwrt
the USC id is very manic depressive

percdm
the product of crazy is usually more crazy

timstwrt
i will be reasonably ok with any scenario where BC beats the spread, which last i saw was 15
losing 28-14 in the coliseum would not be terrible for a team that lost at west point a year ago

percdm
earlier today i saw the spread at 14 and the over/under at 43...i think gamblers should be taking BC and the under
losing to usc won't hurt the program at all, even if usc is in shambles
but beating usc would be a big deal

timstwrt
basically nothing this year can hurt the program
already matched last year's win total
nothing on field, that is. some sort of jonestown massacre situation would probably hurt recruiting

percdm
haha. that would set the program back, but not as much as spaz did. i think the most significant sign of success for addazio will be when we stop comparing his teams to the spaz era

timstwrt
or if he punches lane kiffin in the face
then he'd be national hero steve addazio
feted from coast to coast

percdm
even by edsbs?

timstwrt
spencer hall would write a thousand words comparing him to robert the bruce 

percdm
i want to read those words
BC 17-USC 16, addazio national hero...i'm excited

timstwrt
you (three people) heard it here first

Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Linebacker/Fullback/Receiver, Oh My


timstwrt
wake is kind of a must-win game
to avoid a tailspin
since it's entirely possible that we'll get mauled in three of the following four games

percdm
i completely agree
really, USC through VaTech is daunting

timstwrt
yeah...3-5 going into new mexico state would be ok progress
4-4 would be a dream

percdm
beat wake, and beat army, then just need to take down north carolina or virginia tech
its not a crazy dream

timstwrt
it's a pretty crazy dream
the odds of us being 4-4 have to be less than 5%

percdm
i'm not sure i could put a number on it, but i expect bc to beat wake forest and army

timstwrt
you also didn't watch the game

percdm
pulling one upset in 5 games isn't crazy
i only saw the highlights

timstwrt
we no longer have the slanted numbers
which is pleasant on the eye

percdm
that's great, that was terrible
although it was about the 40th ugliest thing about last year's team
what did you see that you liked the most, and what did you see that you liked the least?

timstwrt  
the defense is a work in progress, dudes seemed to be still learning schemes
the offensive strategy i didn't like, but i didn't expect to

percdm
was it just the sheer volume of runs
or that it was a lot of running considering they weren't big gainers?

timstwrt
more volume....williams had a pretty big game
i think he averaged five a carry
addazio just made a big deal about how he was going to play to the personnel, and he did not play to the personnel
rettig barely threw downfield at all
i think his longest completion in the first half was a screen

percdm
but i do know that in the second half there was a play action td to amidon
and, there was a nice pass play to amidon called back for a chop block
maybe he thought they would just run over villanova
and had to adjust at halftime
which would be a nice change of pace

timstwrt 
amidon did factor in a lot more in the second half
but it still seemed to be a lot underneath

percdm
i have two thoughts, but these are coming from a guy who watched the game on his phone
1. bc played better on both sides of the ball in the second half
2. amidon is the guy, more so than rettig

timstwrt
i don't really know what you mean by the latter

percdm
he is the real playmaker, and the offense should focus on getting him the ball so he can make things happen
as opposed to putting it all on rettig and having him spread the ball around

timstwrt 
well, i'm pretty sure bubble screens to amidon against florida state and clemson will work differently than they did against villanova
so rettig is going to have to be throwing downfield some of the time, and to some other players
wolford is the only other receiver to catch more than one pass
villanova is the game where you're supposed to be able to spread it around

percdm
i get that to an extent, but if amidon is wide open, you're going to get the ball to your best receiver

timstwrt
so you have 13 catches by amidon, 6 by a guy who was a linebacker a minute ago, and a few guys with one. doesn't seem like a recipe for sustained success in the ACC.

percdm
unless you think amidon is a bona fide all-acc receiver

timstwrt
nope, even then
you also don't have to "think" that amidon is all-ACC...he's reigning all-ACC

percdm
and i think he will be again...i think he can carry the passing game

timstwrt 
but look at least year's other all-ACC receiver. deandre hopkins had sammy watkins across the field, taking some attention and catching probably 60 (definitely too lazy to look that up) balls
amidon can carry the passing game like he did last year, to two wins
to have success in conference, there are going to have to be other legitimate wideout options
sammy watkins caught 57 passes
spiffy evans is on pace for 12

percdm
wolford is on pace for 72

timstwrt  
i know you didn't watch the game, but you know that wolford is a fullback, right?
he's a 235 pound fullback. i don't think he'll be stretching the field.

percdm
how did he end up with that many catches, i only saw one in the highlights?
i'm not saying rettig doesn't need to spread the ball around more to win in the acc, i'm just saying that amidon should be the focal point of the passing game
i expect to see a lot of plays planned around getting the ball to amidon

timstwrt 
so when i said "so you have 13 catches by amidon, 6 by a guy who was a linebacker a minute ago, and a few guys with one. doesn't seem like a recipe for sustained success in the ACC," amd you responded "unless you think amidon is a bona fide all-acc receiver," you were actually saying that rettig needs to spread the ball around more to win in the ACC?
because that was my point, the one that you contradicted

percdm
my comment was too black and white. the point i was trying to make is that i think that bc can be successful with amidon pulling down the bulk of the receptions in a run first offense. i think a passing game focused on amidon can be successful in the acc. but, i do agree with you that another receiver needs to step up and become a viable option
i'm not so worried about 13 of 23 of rettig's completions going to amidon

timstwrt 
amidon's great, they need to get him the ball as much as possible
one aspect of doing that aeffectively is developing other options

percdm 
wake should force the offense to work more, so there should be a little more creativity in the playcalling

timstwrt
in any event, those are issues that teams that aren't named wake forest will exploit
i'd be surprised if we lost to wake at home on a saturday night

percdm
*friday night
which will be a different feeling for the fans

timstwrt
right

percdm
i think it will create a little more excitement in alumni
i agree that we should take care of business against wake
they'll obviously have a lot more talent than villanova, but a lot less than what we are going to see later in the year
i think it'll be a better game to gauge where the team is at talent-wise, as well as the schemes

timstwrt
yeah, i think so. spaz did a lot of damage, and this isn't going to be an eight win team overnight. if we win friday, play solid-but-overmatched against USC, FSU and clemson and get to the week off before UNC at 3-3, that's a fantastic start for addazio.

percdm
i'd be happy with that, and i think every other bc fan would be too
i think the really scary thing is how thin the team is
we already talked about the current receiver situation
then, when i was looking at the box score, i noticed the two back-up running backs had 12 carries for 15 yards

timstwrt
dudeck was....not good

percdm
rouse couldn't have been much better
1.8 yards/carry for rouse to 1.3 for dudeck
one thing that has to happen for addazio to keep the team competitive is that we have to get lucky with injuries
but assuming we do, i think we should be 3-3 at the halfway mark
ok, time for mostly-baseless speculation:
what is BC's final record?

timstwrt
6-6 would be the far end of reasonable hope for the season
i'd say 5-7
win all the ones they should, then one of the last three

percdm
yeah, i keep thinking 5-7, but when i look at the schedule, i can see bc taking 2 of the last 3...i guess i'll go 6-6
i know its early in the week and you haven't watched the wake forest-presbyterian footage yet, but score of friday's game?

timstwrt
24-16

percdm
i agree on the score, so i'll add a prediction or two: 1. the defense will give up a huge play for a touchdown 2. the defense will score a td or set-up an easy td 3. amidon will have 11 receptions for 200+ yards and scream "that's how you win the acc" to a camera in the end zone

timstwrt
4. spiffy evans will look sad