timstwrt
i hated almost everything about the frank spaziani era, almost from the moment it started, but i never really hated him. i can't imagine what it would have been like if, in addition to being a terrible coach, he was a smug, failing upward asshole with the world's most punchable face.
i don't know what made me think of that...who are we playing this week?
percdm
i have no sympathy for the kiffin haters among the usc faithful. maybe it's because the wounds of the spaz era are too raw, or maybe it's because they're usc
i'm 90% sure it's because they are usc
150%
he really has that program in an enjoyable kind of disarray
who would have thought even a week ago that we'd be talking about this being a winnable game for the eagles?
at this point, it would seem shocking if we lose (this is not remotely true)
it's not that they lost to washington state, a terrible team
but they scored 7 points!
and as i saw noted somewhere, it's not like washington st did anything special or played out of their minds
usc just let wsu's shitty defense shut them down
well, they are platooning quarterbacks
which has a long history of success in college football
platooning quarterbacks is a totally viable option
in video games
despite the fact that usc seems to be imploding, there is still a strong argument that they should win this game
they are more talented, and they are playing at home after a disappointing loss
they should be really amped up to play a game they previously would not have been particularly amped up to play
i don't think they do "amped"
you don't think the team will rally around their coach, and come out with something to prove?
has anyone anywhere ever rallied around lane kiffin?
i mean, the bc players never did it for spaz, but i hear that happens at the college level
well
the BC players seemed to like spaz, but were unable to rally around him because they were recruited by spaz
the USC players are talented, but they probably hate their coach and don't have a quarterback
since we still have those same spaz players, this feels like a tossup
i would expect USC to win 24-13
yeah, the spaz era recruits are what have me concerned
which i guess is not a tossup in any sense
i have a much closer game and a diferent outcome, 17-16 BC
the BC defense has been good for the better part of seven quarters
i said i would EXPECT a different outcome....i will be picking BC 16-13
because why not
haha, that's a good reason
i agree that the defense has looked good, although it was against villanova and wake forest
my main concern is a USC special teams or defensive score...just some fluke play where we get reminded that they have a lot more talent
back to the defense for a second, wake forest looked like a rec league flag football team that instituted the option 20 minutes before the game...so it is hard to judge exactly how effective the defense is
but they have looked good, and they snatched up the turnovers when the opportunity presented itself
i too am worried about usc's talent, especially on defense
this is the real test of the offense, especially since only wiliams and amidon have stepped up so far
i expect one terrible rettig INT, probably on a pass to the outside where someone in the USC secondary cuts in front of it
leading to the aforementioned defensive TD
i think that is the kind of thing bc can't let happen
because i think with the aggressive defense we play, usc will get one big offensive touchdown
and i don't see bc scoring a whole lot of points
there are two things i learned from the internet relating to things we've discussed
USC has picked a QB, and it's kessler
and their players held a players-only meeting on sunday, and marquise lee made it clear to the media that kiffin didn't know about it, and wasn't invited
so i stand by my lack of rally
fair enough, i knew kessler had been deemed the starter, but i'm still not sure if that means both qbs won't play
knowing kiffin, it probably means he's in for the first play before giving way for wittek
maybe the players meeting was about rallying around each other...i expect the trojans to be fired up
but just one big bc play or one usc mistake could devastate them
the USC id is very manic depressive
the product of crazy is usually more crazy
i will be reasonably ok with any scenario where BC beats the spread, which last i saw was 15
losing 28-14 in the coliseum would not be terrible for a team that lost at west point a year ago
earlier today i saw the spread at 14 and the over/under at 43...i think gamblers should be taking BC and the under
losing to usc won't hurt the program at all, even if usc is in shambles
but beating usc would be a big deal
basically nothing this year can hurt the program
already matched last year's win total
nothing on field, that is. some sort of jonestown massacre situation would probably hurt recruiting
haha. that would set the program back, but not as much as spaz did. i think the most significant sign of success for addazio will be when we stop comparing his teams to the spaz era
or if he punches lane kiffin in the face
then he'd be national hero steve addazio
feted from coast to coast
even by edsbs?
spencer hall would write a thousand words comparing him to robert the bruce
percdm
i want to read those words
BC 17-USC 16, addazio national hero...i'm excited
you (three people) heard it here first
No comments:
Post a Comment