timstwrt
wake is kind of a must-win game
to avoid a tailspin
since it's entirely possible that we'll get mauled in three
of the following four games
percdm
i completely agree
really, USC through VaTech is daunting
yeah...3-5 going into new mexico state would be ok progress
4-4 would be a dream
beat wake, and beat army, then just need to take down north
carolina or virginia tech
its not a crazy dream
it's a pretty crazy dream
the odds of us being 4-4 have to be less than 5%
i'm not sure i could put a number on it, but i expect bc to
beat wake forest and army
you also didn't watch the game
pulling one upset in 5 games isn't crazy
i only saw the highlights
we no longer have the slanted numbers
which is pleasant on the eye
that's great, that was terrible
although it was about the 40th ugliest thing about last
year's team
what did you see that you liked the most, and what did you
see that you liked the least?
the defense is a work in progress, dudes seemed to be still
learning schemes
the offensive strategy i didn't like, but i didn't expect to
was it just the sheer volume of runs
or that it was a lot of running considering they weren't big
gainers?
more volume....williams had a pretty big game
i think he averaged five a carry
addazio just made a big deal about how he was going to play
to the personnel, and he did not play to the personnel
rettig barely threw downfield at all
i think his longest completion in the first half was a
screen
but i do know that in the second half there was a play
action td to amidon
and, there was a nice pass play to amidon called back for a
chop block
maybe he thought they would just run over villanova
and had to adjust at halftime
which would be a nice change of pace
amidon did factor in a lot more in the second half
but it still seemed to be a lot underneath
i have two thoughts, but these are coming from a guy who
watched the game on his phone
1. bc played better on both sides of the ball in the second
half
2. amidon is the guy, more so than rettig
i don't really know what you mean by the latter
he is the real playmaker, and the offense should focus on
getting him the ball so he can make things happen
as opposed to putting it all on rettig and having him spread
the ball around
well, i'm pretty sure bubble screens to amidon against
florida state and clemson will work differently than they did against villanova
so rettig is going to have to be throwing downfield some of
the time, and to some other players
wolford is the only other receiver to catch more than one
pass
villanova is the game where you're supposed to be able to
spread it around
i get that to an extent, but if amidon is wide open, you're
going to get the ball to your best receiver
so you have 13 catches by amidon, 6 by a guy who was a
linebacker a minute ago, and a few guys with one. doesn't seem like a recipe
for sustained success in the ACC.
unless you think amidon is a bona fide all-acc receiver
nope, even then
you also don't have to "think" that amidon is
all-ACC...he's reigning all-ACC
and i think he will be again...i think he can carry the
passing game
but look at least year's other all-ACC receiver. deandre
hopkins had sammy watkins across the field, taking some attention and catching
probably 60 (definitely too lazy to look that up) balls
amidon can carry the passing game like he did last year, to
two wins
to have success in conference, there are going to have to be
other legitimate wideout options
sammy watkins caught 57 passes
spiffy evans is on pace for 12
wolford is on pace for 72
i know you didn't watch the game, but you know that wolford
is a fullback, right?
he's a 235 pound fullback. i don't think he'll be stretching
the field.
how did he end up with that many catches, i only saw one in
the highlights?
i'm not saying rettig doesn't need to spread the ball around
more to win in the acc, i'm just saying that amidon should be the focal point
of the passing game
i expect to see a lot of plays planned around getting the
ball to amidon
so when i said "so you have 13 catches by amidon, 6 by
a guy who was a linebacker a minute ago, and a few guys with one. doesn't seem
like a recipe for sustained success in the ACC," amd you responded "unless
you think amidon is a bona fide all-acc receiver," you were actually
saying that rettig needs to spread the ball around more to win in the ACC?
because that was my point, the one that you contradicted
my comment was too black and white. the point i was trying
to make is that i think that bc can be successful with amidon pulling down the
bulk of the receptions in a run first offense. i think a passing game focused
on amidon can be successful in the acc. but, i do agree with you that another
receiver needs to step up and become a viable option
i'm not so worried about 13 of 23 of rettig's completions
going to amidon
amidon's great, they need to get him the ball as much as
possible
one aspect of doing that aeffectively is developing other
options
percdm
wake should force the offense to work more, so there should
be a little more creativity in the playcalling
in any event, those are issues that teams that aren't named
wake forest will exploit
i'd be surprised if we lost to wake at home on a saturday
night
*friday night
which will be a different feeling for the fans
right
i think it will create a little more excitement in alumni
i agree that we should take care of business against wake
they'll obviously have a lot more talent than villanova, but
a lot less than what we are going to see later in the year
i think it'll be a better game to gauge where the team is at
talent-wise, as well as the schemes
yeah, i think so. spaz did a lot of damage, and this isn't
going to be an eight win team overnight. if we win friday, play
solid-but-overmatched against USC, FSU and clemson and get to the week off
before UNC at 3-3, that's a fantastic start for addazio.
i'd be happy with that, and i think every other bc fan would
be too
i think the really scary thing is how thin the team is
we already talked about the current receiver situation
then, when i was looking at the box score, i noticed the two
back-up running backs had 12 carries for 15 yards
dudeck was....not good
rouse couldn't have been much better
1.8 yards/carry for rouse to 1.3 for dudeck
one thing that has to happen for addazio to keep the team
competitive is that we have to get lucky with injuries
but assuming we do, i think we should be 3-3 at the halfway
mark
ok, time for mostly-baseless speculation:
what is BC's final record?
6-6 would be the far end of reasonable hope for the season
i'd say 5-7
win all the ones they should, then one of the last three
yeah, i keep thinking 5-7, but when i look at the schedule,
i can see bc taking 2 of the last 3...i guess i'll go 6-6
i know its early in the week and you haven't watched the
wake forest-presbyterian footage yet, but score of friday's game?
24-16
i agree on the score, so i'll add a prediction or two: 1.
the defense will give up a huge play for a touchdown 2. the defense will score
a td or set-up an easy td 3. amidon will have 11 receptions for 200+ yards and
scream "that's how you win the acc" to a camera in the end zone
4. spiffy evans will look sad
No comments:
Post a Comment