Friday, September 30, 2011

Gchatting the Eagles #9: Wake Forest Preview: Win or Lose, Tanner's a Pretty Silly First Name

timstwrt
  so, we didn't discuss umass
  and i don't really have anything to say
  i didn't watch the game live, so when i saw the score i was encouraged, but when i actually watched it...not so much
percDM it was a hard game to take anything away from  we made some big plays, but they weren't pretty plays
it was nice to put up points, but i didn't see anything particularly encouraging
 timstwrt no, the main takeaway for me is that division 2 football is not very good
percDMyeah, i think we have to still look at this bc team as the team that lost to duke
 timstwrt it was nice to get montel a spring training game, though
  if you're not going to redshirt him, the next best thing is to get his feet wet against a high school team
 percDMyeah, i'll be interested in what kind of work load montel gets tomorrow
the line still looks bad, but montel has that way of getting past the first level
  he makes the first guy miss in a way that williams simply can't
timstwrti think that a lot of BC fans, myself included, feel kind of torn at this point
  each week, i want us to win
  at the same time, everything about our program seems trending in the wrong direction
so the silver lining of losing is the possibility of blowing it up
 percDMi guess i'm not as torn
  i mean, i want spaz gone
  and the program is trending in the wrong direction
but, a 1-11 season would be excruciating
  its no fun to a watch a team that can't compete
timstwrtwhat's the spaziani line for the season
  the number of losses that gets him fired
  i think 8
 percDMi was going to say 8
  and really 4-8 is very likely
timstwrti don't really agree
  4-8 seems optimistic
  like, wildly
  but, i'm also picking us to lose tomorrow
 percDMby what margin?
 timstwrt we'll get there
  so
there seems to be a feeling that we're in the early-to-mid stages of a downturn
  probably early
 percDMthere is definitely that feeling
timstwrtthat's all, just noting that this is a terrible time to be a BC sports fan
 percDM yeah, both football and basketball have more struggles on the horizon
BC finished the season ranked every year from 2004 through 2007
 timstwrtthat was a while ago
 percDMand this will be the fourth year in a row we won't be ranked
  and this is our first losing season in a long time
 timstwrt14 years
 percDM i'd say we are in the middle stage of a downturnand its a significant downturntimstwrtanyway, wake forest probably sucks
  but we're probably worse
 percDMwake forst definitely sucksand we also suck  i think we suck comparablytimstwrt here's why we're going to lose
i think tanner price is better than sean renfree
  and renfree torched us
  also, my perception may be colored by the fact that i watched bad news bears the other day, so i assume that tanner price is an undersized spitfire
percDMhaha
  tanner price is having a good season
  and if we don't get any pressure, he will pick us apart
 timstwrtwe won't get any pressure
 percDMbut, for all my trashing on spaz, he is a good defensive coach
and i think he is going to bring the linebackers more this game to get some pressure
  we saw a few more linebacker blitzes against umass
  and i think he was working them into the schemei think he knows he doesn't have the defensive line or the secondary to just rush fourtimstwrt ramsey's still hurt, and wujcak's out, so they'll have to bring the linebackers all day which, if i know, i bet jim grobe knows  so get ready to see their tight ends pick up first downs
 percDMobviously they will plan for it
but i have no idea what tanner price can do under pressure
 timstwrt probably take hits and pop back up, if he's as scrappy as i think
 percDM i'd rather go after him and force him to make plays under pressure, then sit back and let him pick us apart
 timstwrteither way, we lose
although it looks like accuscore doesn't see our prospects so grimly
  58% of the time we win percDMyeah, i saw that and i was shockedtimstwrti give us a 22% chance. they may have "computers" and "analysis," but i have "gut feelings" and "fear of mustaches," which, people may be surprised to learn, does not have a fancy phobia name percDM
  i've been torn about this game all week
  because these are two really bad teams
and i feel like bc is going to win, but i'm resting my hopes on spaz's coaching and i think i've made it quite clear what i think of his coaching
 timstwrthow are we going to win?
 percDMcliche number 1: cause turnovers
cliche number 2: get the running game going
  but most importantly, i think chase needs to air it out...go deep against their weak secondary
timstwrtyeah, throw it up for momah
  oh wait
  so, those things aren't going to happen
  and you're wrong
  wake 34 BC 16
percDMwow, that's a beatdown
 timstwrtyep
  we're terrible!
percDMnobody thinks we are good
 timstwrti think we go 3-9, beating NC state because it's the only coaching battle that spaz wins, and ND because they'll be poised for national relevance, and they love to fall on their faces when that happens
percDMwe've got some other potentially winnable games
  which i didn't think 2 weeks ago
  maryland looks weak, as does virginia
but back to this wake game
  i'm going to pick BC
  17-13
 timstwrtis there a monsoon heading for chestnut hill?
  that's rather low scoring
 percDM i see our offense sputtering
but i also think spaz will have a really good defensive gameplan and wake doesn't have the players to overcome it
 timstwrtmr. sunshine
  i'll revise my pick slightly, to 34-23
  hope i'm wrong
 percDMi do too
timstwrtand we're envisioning wildly different games
 percDM what are our point totals for the year?
timstwrt17,3,19, 45*
 percDMwe don't score much
duke put up 20 on us
  if we do have a good defensive gameplan, i think it's not ridiculous that wake would score one less touchdown than duke
 timstwrta little insecure about your pick?
  i like this...let your id out
it's not ridiculous, just incorrect
 percDMi'm just having trouble envisioning these teams lighting up the scoreboard
i am envisioning a sad game
that leaves the fans wishing they had stayed at home
 timstwrti believe it was tanner price who said, you can take your predictions and take your fans and shove 'em straight up your ass
  but i could be wrong
also, that's the only quasi-quote from tanner price in that movie that doesn't involve racial slurs
  tanner boyle, i mean.  see!
 percDMwell, i'm glad you are keeping the slurs off the blogtimstwrt go eagles, i guess.percDM
i won't be able to sleep tonight i'll be so amped
timstwrtESPN3 won't know what hit it

Friday, September 23, 2011

GChatting the Eagles #8: UMass Preview: Does Spaz Eat Babies?

percDM UConn = pack of cheaterstimstwrt did they do something new, or just their history of being terrible cheaters who steal laptops and lionize a cheating gasbag who even god (despite His best efforts) can't take down?
 percDMtate george was arrested for a $2 million ponzi scheme
i just don't know where he would learn to cheat like thattimstwrt$2m? that's the sort of not-all-that-lucrative level of ponzi schemes you get with a top notch uconn education
 percDM haha
timstwrti like that they're complaining that we're blocking their entrance to the ACC over that pesky "you and your AG sued us for doing the same thing" thing
which would be fair
  in my opinion
  but the reality is that perhaps we don't want to share new england with them
 percDMall of that makes sense
timstwrtspeaking of local state schools, how stoked are you for umass?
 percDMwhen these two teams meet, hide the women and children
timstwrtmy assumption is that we'll losepercDMthat should be my assumption timstwrtbut we'll probably win 24-23 on eight nate freese field goals
 all of them from 50+
 because why not with this season
percDMi still think we will winof course, i thought we'd be in 3-0 right now
  and picked that way each week
 timstwrt
the biggest issue in this game isn't whether we win or lose
  losing would further embarrass the team, of course
and pantale said "there's a little bit of added pressure (playing an FCS team),"
  which is mystifying
 percDMyeah, a loss means there is no saving this season
  but, we already think the season is losthe said that because of the playing not to lose culture that spaz has createdtimstwrt here's the biggest issue: make an argument for playing montel harris, who's listed as probable
 
  percDMwell, its a hard argument
but the argument has to be that not playing harris if he is healthy is equal to giving up on the guys playing right now
  how can you ask these guys to go out and play hard if you are basically saying that the season is over
in the world of could have beens, this team might be 2-1 right now if they had harris all season
timstwrtthat's quite a could-have-been, involving several plays in the northwestern game having a different outcome
  which i think strains the could-have-beenometer
 percDM fair enough
but if he doesn't play harris, can't people criticize spaz for giving up on the season?
 timstwrtwell, you could just say he's not 100%
  and that it would be unfair to the player to press him back
 percDMok, but what if he is 100%
or 95%
  what does that say to the players?
 timstwrt "be better at football"
 percDMthey'd be better with harris
  without harris, they might quit, and be even worse
  and then you have a broken team heading into next year
timstwrtwell, maybe montel can carry us to 4 wins and another year of spaz
percDMbut 0-12 is an ugly stain
  one that recruits won't miss
  lots of good programs have down years
  years they aren't bowl eligible
  not a lot of good programs go 0-12 or 1-11
timstwrtour nation's finest purveyors of linkbait slideshows, bleacher report, had something about us going winless
  i couldn't be bothered to click through to the end
 percDMso, would you definitely not play harris, assuming that he is healthy?
timstwrtif he's 100%, nine games still gives him a reasonable shot at the ACC rushing record
  i suppose it's in everyone's best interests to let him play
  but this is the end of the road, in my book
if he can't play tomorrow, give him the redshirt
 percDMis he too many yards away to get the record if he plays 8 games?
really, i think the priority list has to be Harris's health, winning games, and then the ACC rushing record
timstwrtwell, sure, but this season's going to suck. all we potentially have is kuechly being kuechly and the ACC rushing record
 percDM if harris comes back, and we still suck, how ridiculous would that be?
two record breaking caliber players playing at the same time, and we can't win football games
  and they are on opposite sides of the ball
timstwrtif we were to beat umass by, say, 20+ points, would it change how you feel about how the season will play out?
percDMits a fcs team
  and so, not that much
  i guess if the offense is sharper, that's something
  but just putting up points isn't enough to make me feel better
no matter what happens, i won't be excited about the wake forest game
 timstwrti'm looking forward to watching this on the grainy film of espn3, lead cameraman abraham zapruder
percDMyeah, i'm sure we'll get all the best angles
  the only person faked out by a play action will be the cameramanso, what's your score prediction? are you actually predicting an Eagles loss?timstwrtsigh
  no
  24-9 eagles
  a win and a cover, which is a terrible prediction
 percDMi say 24-10 Eagles without Harris, 31-10 with him
our line has to be good enough to push around a fcs team d-line
 timstwrtif we lose to umass, are we obligated to give up this wildly popular blog?
 percDMand cause even more sadness amongst the bc faithful?
 timstwrtgood point
  we shall soldier on
percDMwe're a lifeline in dark times
 timstwrthey, at least spaz is treating the maintenance crew to lunch!
 percDM
  i don't even want to get into that ridiculouness
nobody is saying spaz is a bad guy
  just that he's a bad head coach
 timstwrt i don't know....if the season keeps going this way, i might start telling people that he eats babies
 percDM and shares them with the maintenance crewthat way, he is a devious monster
  but nobody will believe it, because that's way too creative for him

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Gchatting the Eagles #7: ACC Expansion or: Dreaming of Digger Phelps

percDMhey 
It is clear from our discussion yesterday that we are both pleased with the addition of Syracuse and Pittsburgh. But, now is the time for rampant and uneducated speculation. And I've got a whole lot of ideas about conference expansion and realignment to discuss.
timstwrtdoes it involve UConn to the Gateway?
 percDMis that the new big12/big east conference?
  because that's where i see uconn going
 timstwrtno, it's the former name of the MVC
  but it's a better name
 percDMthat is a better name
i guess i envision four possible scenarios for the ACC, and only one involves uconn
  and its the one i think is the worst for the conference
these are reasonable scenarios
  i saw a guy today discussing nd and penn st as the 15th and 16th members
 timstwrtsounds awesomely implausibleif nothing else, this upheaval has given pretty much everyone license to speculate on pretty much everything
  see: whatever you're about to say
percDMyeah, it was crazy from intro to conclusion
  i see the best scenario as nd and georgetown joining as non-football playing schools

timstwrtok, start with ND
  why would a conference take them without football in 2011?
 percDM
  good question, and i think it goes to their fan base, strength in other sports and their academics
or, let's put this another way, how do you feel about villanova and georgetown joining in all non-football sports?
timstwrti feel great about it
  i would consider that my #1 ACC option
 percDMwhy villanova over notre dame?
  location is a plus for villanova
  but what else
timstwrtmainly location, and the fact that they're a better basketball school
  so if you're enhancing the basketball brand, notre dame doesn't do much
percDM i agree that nova is a better basketball school, but they're not that much better than notre dame in recent years
also, notre dame has quality programs in a lot of non-revenue sports, which matters a little
  more importantly, notre dame would probably be tied into bowl games with the acc, which could mean better bowls for the conference
which is an added bonus, since nd is so rarely bowl eligible
 timstwrthold on
villanova's a way better basketball program in recent years
  4-1 sweet sixteens in the last ten years
  2-0 elite eights
  1-0 final fours
so you're wrong there
  and i don't really care how good notre dame is at women's soccer
 nor does anyone other than the north carolina women's soccer team percDMbut the acc might care about how good the other sports are
 acc baseball might care
acc men's soccer might care
  i know non-revenue sports are 5th or 6th in the factors considered for conference expansion, but its a factor
 
 timstwrt the other thing in villanova's favor is television
 percDM
how so?
 timstwrtif you're not taking notre dame football, villanova's a better TV draw in basketball
 percDM and you are sure villanova basketball is a better tv draw than notre dame?
  where, in philadelphia?
  maybe southern jersey
timstwrti'm not sure how you've missed that villanova's a basketball power, but it has been for a while
  they beat us in the sweet sixteen, you should have seen that
 percDMgonzaga is a basketball power too
  but i don't think they have better tv revenue than schools with more national appeal
i know notre dame basketball doesn't have the same fanbase as their football program, but they still have a lot of fans
  villanova is definitely a basketball power
  but, i think their fanbase is regional
timstwrtnotre dame is guaranteed a minimum of 11 national television appearances in the 2011-12 season
villanova 18
  so, people whose jobs depend on ratings think villanova's a bigger draw
percDMok, so let's say both villanova and georgetown have better basketball fanbases than notre dame, i'm not sure if that is true, but i'm granting that for now
timstwrt is this 1977? you might be the only person who thinks it's debatable that villanova and georgetown are bigger basketball draws than notre dame
  kelly tripucka isn't walking through that door
  adrian dantley isn't walking through that doorpercDM what about the potential bowl tie-ins with notre dame?timstwrt
  the bowl thing seems like a negative to me
is there a lower rung that we can get pushed down to in the bowl world if we ever get back to going 8-4?
 percDMyeah, we can get bumped down a rung
  but we can also move up
  like if the acc gets the gator bowl
and notre dame doesn't make a bowl or makes the bcs
  which are their two most common moves
 timstwrtthe ACC had the gator bowl...i remember them not taking us twice
 percDM but, with the BC rule in place and another high level bowl, we could actually end up in a good bowl for once
timstwrtok
  that's an argument
percDM i don't think we are far apart on this, but right now, we will have to disagree on which of those two scenarios is better
 timstwrtbut we agree that football expansion isn't a great option
 percDMright  my second scenario is your number one
  my third scenario is that the acc just stay at 14
  i like the idea of two 7 team divisions, nine conference games, and 1 cross-divisional rival
i don't like two 8 team divisions, or 4 pods
i like an acc division of the old big east schools plus virginia and maryland
  then we play clemson as a cross-division rival
  the other division is a little weaker, with the four carolina schools, but i'll take it for the more interesting matchups
  i want to play syracuse, vatech, clemson, and miami yearly
i would also like to play pitt yearly
  i don't really care about how often we play the carolina schools, florida st, or georgia tech
timstwrtthat all checks out
  although i'd rather play one of the carolina schools than pitt, because i don't care about any of them and pitt's likely to be better
percDMfair enough
  what i don't want to see, is the acc adding rutgers and uconn
i get that it establishes a string of institutions all along the eastern seaboard
  and i get that those schools may be ways into the nyc market
  but, i don't like what it does to the football scheduling
  and i don't like uconn
if we get stuck in a pod with uconn, rutgers, and syracuse, that's going to suck
 timstwrthopefully it ends with us poised for a BCS bowl with a win over a terrible syracuse team
  because that can't go wrong
 percDMnever goes wrong

Monday, September 19, 2011

Gchatting the Eagles #6: Coaching Not to Lose, and Losing All The Time (Bonus UConn Mockery Edition)

timstwrt losing to duke is embarrassing, but is it "being forced to grovel at the feet of people you sued for leaving the big east so that you can leave the big east" embarrassing?  uconn's always there to remind us that it's not enough to be craven if you can be stupid AND cravenpercDM really, i think the expansion news and uconn's subsequent groveling were the only things that could take away the sting of the football being this terrible
timstwrtdo you think defilippo called jim calhoun on saturday and just cackled for five minutes?
 percDM personally, i think at every subsequent expansion meeting, gene should just pass around the lawsuit
timstwrtrecall that, at one of those "gene meets with alums" things, i asked if calhoun had to die for us to play them in basketball again
  and he said, "no, i do."
so i don't know how these expansion talks work, or what kind of sway we hold in the ACC, but suffice it to say that uconn's inclusion won't be unanimous
 percDMand really, gene's hatred for uconn is the only thing he has going for him right now
 i don't see the march to 16 as inevitable
 timstwrti like the villanova/georgetown angle, with a 14 team football conference
percDM its an interesting idea
  but is it going to make the conference more profitable?
 timstwrt it makes sense academically, as if that matters
  enhances "best basketball conference"
  screws uconn sideways
all upside
 percDMthats an added bonus
  the great thing is that uconn can't pull out the old lawsuit trick because they want in
timstwrtcan't wait for dick blumenthal to try to launch a congressional inquiry to get to the bottom of why no one wants his state's crappy agricultural college in their league
percDM he'd have more luck there
  at least congress would consider his inquiry
  didn't the judge throw out his lawsuit on jurisdictional grounds
 timstwrti believe so
percDMthat's embarrassing
  not quite so as embarrassing as being the uconn ad right nowit seems like they really got blindsided
 timstwrtgene does get credit for prescience
a lot of the way this broke is outside of his control, but he positioned BC well and get lucky
 percDM uconn trolls who have been saying that bc never should left the big east should be prevented from commenting on any blogs for at least a year
i don't think a lot of people saw the acc making a move at this point
  but it was a great move
  i can't see the acc falling apart now
 timstwrtno, and swofford gets credit for being a bloodthirsty assassin
he's like the opposite of frank spaziani
 percDMfor spaziani, he'd still be saying, this could get ugly
as the other conferences took 2 teams at a time
  but then he'd add ecu and ucf, and all would be salvaged
  i mean, unless they turned him down
 but the point is, he would have made a lame, but doomed attempt to save the league
timstwrtcan i isolate one play in that game for excessive complaint?percDM go right ahead
  i didn't know we had to ask
 timstwrt midway through the second quarter, we were driving
3rd and 10 at the duke 25 with like 4 and a half to go
  10-7 BC
the call is an inside draw to rolandan finch
  on 3rd and ten
  on duke's 25
 percDMyes, i remember that gem
  but i remember that from bible, and tranquil
 timstwrtbecause, you know, when you can get the ball into rolandan finch's hands in that situation, you have to do it
 percDMits a bc play
 yeah, it was a terrible play call
  and you are right to point it out
 timstwrtif spaziani ever gets fired, i want that play shown on a loop by way of explanationobviously, the kicker needs to make kicks and our secondary's awful and on and on, but the coach is aggressively coaching not to loseand is wildly unsuccesful at not losing percDMi know that the athletic department is supporting spaz now
  but i don't think it can possibly be an "if" on spaz getting fired
 he is not a head coach
 which is something gene knew when he passed him over the first time
his comments after the game are revealing too
  he's talking about needing to run the ball better
  which is true
  but really, that's not the problem
  its the lack of aggression
and for him, i think "run the ball better" is just code for "be more conservative"
  we played duke
  and we never turned the ball over
  and lost
  how is that even possible?
timstwrti didn't even know that was true
  the not-turning-the-ball-over part
  i was aware we lost
 percDM yeah, i just checked the box score to be sure
  the box score, in case you were wondering, is ugly4 for 13 on third down
timstwrt i was with a bunch of BC people this weekend for a wedding...the ceremony was late, so the groomsmen all went out to watch the game
 i was the only person in the room who thought we were going to win before the game
  #firespaz
 percDMi thought we were going to win
i thought it was going to be close
  but i thought we were going to win
  and when williams went in for the td and leveled the duke defensive back in the end zone, i was actually excited
 timstwrtyeah, that was tremendously unnecessary and awesome

 the duke guy was like, "oh, hey, i'm just heading to the visitors sideline after your impressive TD run, I wish you no harm"
  and bam
 percDMbut even then, i was thinking, spaz will ruin this leadi have no confidence in spaz's ability to keep a lead
  or come from behind
i guess what i'm saying his, i don't think he is a good football head coach
 timstwrti think you're on to something
  here's the weirdest part, to me
 if you're 64 years old, you're not coaching for another job, you're coaching to keep this one and, presumably, coaching the way that you want to coach football
  the way you imagine the game should be played
  like a president at the beginning of a second term
  so, this is spaz football
  a lifetime in the game, and this is how he's determined it's best played
percDMi think he hates everything in football that has led to more points
  he could probably talk to john madden for hours
  just about how much better football was without all the touchdowns
 timstwrt ha
percDMand, i know this is my favorite topic, but you don't win football games, especially in college with field goals
  especially when you can't even make those field goals
  you'd think it would be obvious to say the approach should be to go for a touchdown
 and settle for a field goal
  but, that does not appear to be our approach
 timstwrthis claim is that he was, and he ran to the left because williams broke two to the left on that drive
 percDMmy claim is that he was a top notch defensive coordinator
 timstwrt i don't really take any joy our of slamming a college kicker. freese obviously needs to make that, and make extra points. you're absolutely right, though...there's just no need to rely on kicking so much in a college game
  it's a stupid approach
and i think it's a contagious attitude
 people play tight because their coach coaches tight
 percDM
  i agree with that sentiment
  the play not to lose attitude is dominating this team
 and its a common theme in sports that playing not to lose is no way to win
  i think we totally worked our way around blaming the kicker there and place it all on spazwhich, is unfair, but not entirely wronghead coaching just isn't his thing i guess BC is just as good as that other Catholic school in proving the Peter principle in coaching
timstwrti'm going to be so angry when montel plays two games this season and then gets hurt again percDM
 i don't think you can possibly justify bringing him back this year
  for what? to not go 0-12
 timstwrti'd think not, but who knows
 my assumption is that spaz will activate him for UMass and then run 43 inside draws
percDM i'm sure harris wants to come back
  but it seems unfair to him, and not good for the program
  i bet he hates sitting on the sidelines watching his team get beat around
  but, i'm not sure that he can overcome the coaching
 we averaged just over three yards a carry against duke
  thats on a lot of people
  and i'm not sure how much better it would have been with harris
maybe he would broke a run or two and that would have been the difference
 timstwrt i'm sure he hates sitting on the sideline, but i can't imagine that he wants to come back to lose his eligibility while playing for a 1-11 team behind a terrible offensive line and not getting the all-time ACC rushing record
  chill until next year, montel....maybe there'll be a new coach
percDMwe can only hope
  and i guess bitch and complain
  we can do a lot of complaining
 timstwrtall of the above!
 percDMand its tough
  but again, at least we're not uconn
 timstwrtoh, uconn...you always pick us up when we're down