Friday, September 2, 2011

Gchatting the Eagles #1: Season Preview

percDM alright, how do we get this going?
i have to admit, i am far more excited than i've been in recent years
timstwrt i guess we start right there
why so excited?
percDM I'm excited to watch an offense interested in putting points on the board.  From what we've been hearing from the players, Rogers is going to use the whole field and disguise his play calling.  It was tough to watch the past two years when you could call the play from your stool at the bar.
timstwrt i mean, i liked feeling smart from my stool at the bar
percDM But last year, everyone seemed smart from their stools, this year it'll take a little more knowledge
timstwrt over my career as a BC sports fan, there've been two years where i didn't feel that i could adequately predict most offensive plays
and i'm not sure this year will be that different
it sounds different at this point, but our two best offensive players are still running backs
of questionable health
let's say rettig improves along the trajectory we expect....who's he throwing to besides colin larmond jr?
percDM adequate receivers will emerge as Rettig improves
plus, we will be strong at tight end
but, i guess that goes back to your point that the offense might look similar to years past
timstwrt except there's no FB on the depth chart, so there's something different
timstwrt i guess i'm not being entirely fair to the wideouts, because momah (after his odd excursion to defensive end) and the oddly spelled, little football experienced johnathan coleman are both, at the very least, tall enough to be productive receivers
and swigert's very scrappy/heady/has a nose for the football
percDM maybe momah will return the occasional kick this year
and that way he can see about 15 plays on all sides of the ball
if he can't return kicks, i worry about our return game
timstwrt because our return man is scrappy/heady/has a nose for the football?
percDM yeah, swigert at kick returner seems like a typically spaz move
very conservative with no threat of an upside
timstwrt he probably won't fumble?
percDM that's not what heady/scrappy guys do
timstwrt speaking of spaz, why did half the team transfer in the last two months?
or it may have just been four guys
related: do we have anyone starting at safety tomorrow?
percDM don't you have a year of eligibility left?
timstwrt: i consider myself more of a short yardage specialist
percDM Noel and Hughes will be in at safety, but I'm actually not that concerned with the defensive backfield
Spaz doesn't typically ask too much of his secondary
timstwrt:  is that true?  that feels true.
percDM my concern on defense is with the line
we have been effective against the run for a long time now
but I can't remember anyone not wearing the number 94 getting pressure on the quarterback
obviously I'm ignoring the Raji-Brace duo on the interior
timstwrt ramsey's still there, and i like him
percDM he is an effective player, but he is not as disruptive as I would like
overall though, i think the defense will be fine
timstwrt can we talk about kuechly?
because i was reading something recently where someone (herbstreit?) said that kuechly was under the radar
percDM maybe he needs more tackles
timstwrt and i agree, despite him being an all-american
i've watched every game luke kuechly's ever played, and i still can't really figure out how he's so good
or rather how he was so good immediately and plays for BC
percDM he's fast, gets in good position, and gets off blocks exceptionally well
and other things, i'm sure
i think we got him because he wears glasses
a lot of schools down south won't recruit a guy with glasses
it is hard to say a guy is under the radar when he is the guy to beat for the Butkus award
he is the best defensive player in the ACC, and probably the country
timstwrt w/r/t under the radar, yes and no
because although he's acclaimed in those ways, he's far from being a household name
i guess college linebackers aren't generally household names
unless they're like andy katzenmoyer
percDM that's fair.  it is hard to be a house hold name when half your games are on espn3
timstwrt or aj hawk
i guess he'd be a household name to me if he played for ohio state
percDM and he'd have a fancy tattoo
timstwrt does brady quinn have any other sisters that kuechly could impregnate?
percDM i'm sure that would be a big story, but i think he would be better off impregnating the sister of a current college quarterback
timstwrt dayne crist is a good looking dude...maybe he's got a sister
percDM let's set it up
do you know dayne crist or luke kuechly?
timstwrt sadly, no.  but i'll be at the ND game, so i'll keep an eye out for any women who look creepily similar to dayne crist
percDM that's pretty late in the season to get buzz about it. 
timstwrt how many games are we going to win?
percDM 13
that doesn't sound right
timstwrt seems high
that'd be high for this year's basketball team
percDM 9
timstwrt 5-0 going into clemson 10/8?
percDM i think so, northwestern and ucf will be good games, but I think we are 5-0 and ranked in the top 20
timstwrt i think i agree with you....we win one of four @VT, FSU, @ND, @MIA?
the schedule from clemson on is brutal
percDM I think we take one or two of those four games
I don't see us beating VT
but, I think FSU and ND are overrated
and Miami could be falling apart
timstwrt narrow it down.  i think we get throttled in blacksburg, upset FSU at home, lose close to ND and lose by 13 to Miami, assuming they're still playing football
percDM lose by 13 to miami, that is very specific
timstwrt i had already emphasized blowout at tech, close loss to ND, so it was an attempt to specify a mid-range beating
percDM I think you have more faith in the hurricanes desire to play for free than i do
so, how many games do you think we will win?
timstwrt so who else do we lose to?  maryland on the road?
i think 9-3.  but if we lose tomorrow, that prediction changes to 6-6, and a lot of tweets from me that end with #firespaz
predicting's a fickle business
percDM 6-6? that's crazy talk
but i will try and get your hashtag trending
timstwrt it's really not if we lose tomorrow
lose at clemson, at virginia tech, florida state, at notre dame, at miami
6-6
percDM that is incredibly reasonable crazy talk
 
 
 

No comments:

Post a Comment