percDMhey
It is clear from our discussion yesterday that we are both pleased with the addition of Syracuse and Pittsburgh. But, now is the time for rampant and uneducated speculation. And I've got a whole lot of ideas about conference expansion and realignment to discuss.
timstwrtdoes it involve UConn to the Gateway?
percDMis that the new big12/big east conference?
because that's where i see uconn going
timstwrtno, it's the former name of the MVC
but it's a better name
percDMthat is a better name
i guess i envision four possible scenarios for the ACC, and only one involves uconn
and its the one i think is the worst for the conference
these are reasonable scenarios
i saw a guy today discussing nd and penn st as the 15th and 16th members
timstwrtsounds awesomely implausibleif nothing else, this upheaval has given pretty much everyone license to speculate on pretty much everything
see: whatever you're about to say
percDMyeah, it was crazy from intro to conclusion i see the best scenario as nd and georgetown joining as non-football playing schools
timstwrtok, start with ND
why would a conference take them without football in 2011?
percDM
good question, and i think it goes to their fan base, strength in other sports and their academics
or, let's put this another way, how do you feel about villanova and georgetown joining in all non-football sports?
timstwrti feel great about it
i would consider that my #1 ACC option
percDMwhy villanova over notre dame?
location is a plus for villanova
but what else
timstwrtmainly location, and the fact that they're a better basketball school
so if you're enhancing the basketball brand, notre dame doesn't do much
percDM i agree that nova is a better basketball school, but they're not that much better than notre dame in recent years
also, notre dame has quality programs in a lot of non-revenue sports, which matters a little
more importantly, notre dame would probably be tied into bowl games with the acc, which could mean better bowls for the conference
which is an added bonus, since nd is so rarely bowl eligible
timstwrthold on
villanova's a way better basketball program in recent years
4-1 sweet sixteens in the last ten years
2-0 elite eights
1-0 final fours
so you're wrong there
and i don't really care how good notre dame is at women's soccer
nor does anyone other than the north carolina women's soccer team percDMbut the acc might care about how good the other sports are
acc baseball might care
acc men's soccer might care
i know non-revenue sports are 5th or 6th in the factors considered for conference expansion, but its a factor
timstwrt the other thing in villanova's favor is television
percDM
how so?
timstwrtif you're not taking notre dame football, villanova's a better TV draw in basketball
percDM and you are sure villanova basketball is a better tv draw than notre dame?
where, in philadelphia?
maybe southern jersey
timstwrti'm not sure how you've missed that villanova's a basketball power, but it has been for a while
they beat us in the sweet sixteen, you should have seen that
percDMgonzaga is a basketball power too
but i don't think they have better tv revenue than schools with more national appeal
i know notre dame basketball doesn't have the same fanbase as their football program, but they still have a lot of fans
villanova is definitely a basketball power
but, i think their fanbase is regional
timstwrtnotre dame is guaranteed a minimum of 11 national television appearances in the 2011-12 season
villanova 18
so, people whose jobs depend on ratings think villanova's a bigger draw
percDMok, so let's say both villanova and georgetown have better basketball fanbases than notre dame, i'm not sure if that is true, but i'm granting that for now
timstwrt is this 1977? you might be the only person who thinks it's debatable that villanova and georgetown are bigger basketball draws than notre dame
kelly tripucka isn't walking through that door
adrian dantley isn't walking through that doorpercDM what about the potential bowl tie-ins with notre dame?timstwrt
the bowl thing seems like a negative to me
is there a lower rung that we can get pushed down to in the bowl world if we ever get back to going 8-4?
percDMyeah, we can get bumped down a rung
but we can also move up
like if the acc gets the gator bowl
and notre dame doesn't make a bowl or makes the bcs
which are their two most common moves
timstwrtthe ACC had the gator bowl...i remember them not taking us twice
percDM but, with the BC rule in place and another high level bowl, we could actually end up in a good bowl for once
timstwrtok
that's an argument
percDM i don't think we are far apart on this, but right now, we will have to disagree on which of those two scenarios is better
timstwrtbut we agree that football expansion isn't a great option
percDMright my second scenario is your number one
my third scenario is that the acc just stay at 14
i like the idea of two 7 team divisions, nine conference games, and 1 cross-divisional rival
i don't like two 8 team divisions, or 4 pods
i like an acc division of the old big east schools plus virginia and maryland
then we play clemson as a cross-division rival
the other division is a little weaker, with the four carolina schools, but i'll take it for the more interesting matchups
i want to play syracuse, vatech, clemson, and miami yearly
i would also like to play pitt yearly
i don't really care about how often we play the carolina schools, florida st, or georgia tech
timstwrtthat all checks out
although i'd rather play one of the carolina schools than pitt, because i don't care about any of them and pitt's likely to be better
percDMfair enough
what i don't want to see, is the acc adding rutgers and uconn
i get that it establishes a string of institutions all along the eastern seaboard
and i get that those schools may be ways into the nyc market
but, i don't like what it does to the football scheduling
and i don't like uconn
if we get stuck in a pod with uconn, rutgers, and syracuse, that's going to suck
timstwrthopefully it ends with us poised for a BCS bowl with a win over a terrible syracuse team
because that can't go wrong
percDMnever goes wrong
No comments:
Post a Comment