percDM it depends on what you mean by doom
3-9 is a possibility
but i still think we can get to bowl eligibilitytimstwrtso, we've flipped here
because a few days ago, 6-6 was crazy talk
now 3-9 is on the table?
percDMwith no pass rush, and a secondary that can't tackle, 3-9 is on the table
i know i said i was not worried about the secondary, but i have not seen a BC secondary that afraid of tackling since the Lenny Walls era.
timstwrt i actually think lenny walls might be starting against UCF
can we start with rettig? i had an opinion watching the game, and i've been a little surprised by the reaction
of the world at large
like BC alum tom waddle, who i heard on the radio today say that BC lost "because the quarterback stinks"
i just did not feel that way at all, and i was really encouraged by rettig's performance
am i missing something?
percDM i think rettig played alright
he holds on to the ball too long
timstwrt yes
percDMsome of his throws were off
but, he made some big plays
and generally looked competent
really, the offensive line and andre williams have to take the blame for the offense's woes
timstwrt the main issue to me was pocket awareness, including obviously the last play of the game
but my theory on that is that he's being allowed to go through his reads for the first time, really, and being allowed to actually play, and he'll adjust to the speed of the game
percDMi hope you are right
where is his internal clock
timstwrt i liked a lot of his throws, and his decision making once he got the ball out was fine
percDMif he can't get through the reads, then he needs to get rid of the ball by a certain time
i liked his ability to throw on the run
a couple of the times the pocket broke down and he would complete a quality pass on the run
we might want to consider moving him out of the pocket some more
that would give him less reads to make
timstwrthe did throw a shitty pick
but i guess i feel like that's the cost of doing business when you throw the ball 45 times
percDMdefinitely
i don't mind the occasional pick
timstwrtwilliams had 21 carries for 45 yards after the first run
so, not good
percDMyeah, andre williams looked like a quality replacement for harris for one play
after that, he looked terrible
timstwrt he didn't seem to have any desire to run between the tackles
it was like watching cedric benson (bears edition), where he'd get to the line and turn around and wait to be hitpercDMhe didn't seem to wait to pick holes
it was like watching cedric benson (bears edition), where he'd get to the line and turn around and wait to be hitpercDMhe didn't seem to wait to pick holes
and he left his feet multiple times
what the hell is he doing leaving his feet?
i think they missed harris more than we were expecting
timstwrtmore than you were expecting
you were sold
percDM if he doesn't come back soon, this season is in trouble
momah's injury was big, but harris's comeback is way more important
timstwrtit's hard to measure importance when you're talking about your two offensive threats
yes, montel is more important
but who's going to catch the ball?
timstwrtwe've lost three wideouts in two months
percDMdespite momah's monster game, i think our other receivers can pick up the slack
i like swigert
i like swigert
he is fast, and has good hands
larmond jr is alrightwe can't completely lay the lack of a running game after the first play on williams, the line wasn't exactly opening up huge holestimstwrt the line was not, but the playcalling wasn't exactly revolutionary
i liked rogers' game plan better than anything tranquill cooked up, but we're still running on running downs and passing on passing downs
percDM i agree, i would like to have seen more passing on first down earlier in the game
i think that 69 yard run may have hurt our playcalling for the rest of the first half
timstwrtyeah
percDMits hard to tell with rogers so far, but i'm not mad at him yet, which is something
timstwrti think he had some nice calls...i just wanted a few more first down playfakes, which i've wanted my entire BC fanlife
percDMso, we are ok with rogers, how do we feel about spaz's gameplan and game management?
timstwrt the biggest specific coaching issue i have with this game is that northwestern had mirror-image scoring drives on each side of halftime
which says something to me about a lack of adjustmentslast three minutes of the first half northwestern goes 80 yards in ten plays, first three minutes of the second half northwestern goes 80 yards in ten plays. that's your ballgame percDMyeah, that is surprising, but generally, i feel like spaz makes good defensive adjustments
my main issue was kicking field goals
there is no way we should have attempted that third field goal
the time for field goals was over
i think you are right about the drives
timstwrtok, hold on, i'm checking the espn play-by-play recap to remember the situation for the last FG
that's the one that almost went in the reservoir, right?
it was 17-10 with 12 and change to go in the game
40 yards, freese is generally reliable, this game notwithstanding
percDMbut i'm saying, northwestern was moving the ball well at that point
and we knew we were going to need points to win the game
bc has had a good defense for a long time now, but spaz relies on it too much
it was clear at that point that it was going to take more than 20 points to win that game
timstwrt4th and 4 from the 23, i actually don't think it's overly conservative for spaz to expect his groza-watchlist kicker to get the job done
percDMi don't care
i don't think a field goal does much there
timstwrtso spaz is thinking we win 20-17, and you're saying that at that point, that's not going to happen?
percDMcorrect
i mean, that is easy for me to say now
but i was saying it during the game too
timstwrtat that point, the defense had righted the ship and stopped northwestern easily on back to back drives
i have no problem with the FG try
percDMi can see the other side, but i didn't like that attempt
i didn't even like the first fg
which certainly puts me in the minority of football fans
timstwrtok, so you have a general aversion to kickers
percDMi have a hatred of getting the ball within the 5 and kicking
i think it gives a boost to the other team when they hold you to three
and i think you lose very little by coming away with nothing
drives that start from within the 5 are notoriously bad...almost always 3 and out
timstwrt what the fuck happened that we're calling timeout on 2nd and goal from the 1 with 6 minutes left?percDMyeah, that was ridiculous
timstwrt what the fuck happened that we're calling timeout on 2nd and goal from the 1 with 6 minutes left?percDMyeah, that was ridiculous
timstwrthow does that happen?
percDM i wish i knew
i definitely couldn't hear the announcers of my yelling
over my yelling
the whole end of the game smacked of typical spaz game management
i hate hating on spaz
because he was a top notch defensive coordinator
and really, he became a real BC guy
but, he is so conservative, and really seems to hate using timeouts intelligently
you combine that with his general, we'll do what we can do attitude, and its frustrating for fans
timstwrtit says something about spaz, or me, or both of us, that when momah was on the sideline during the last drive (because of the ACL injury that may have ended his career), my assumption was that spaz was playing some sort of hunch that the guy with 157 receiving yards might not be able to help the team when it needed a touchdown
there's not much faith in the head football coach
percDMspeaking of momah and touchdowns, what happened with that ball in the end zone when he was wide open
i know it was not a great pass, but did momah turn the wrong way
he seemed to turn to look for the ball on his inside shoulder when he is 6'6" and there was nobody to his outside
timstwrtyeah, definitely miscommunication
maybe he thought he was supposed to play defensive end on that play
percDMit would be nice if somebody played defensive end
although, it is probably unfair to go after the ends when the tackles were so bad
the only bright spot on defense were the linebackers
percDMfour of them played well
i thought clancy was a nice surprise
timstwrtand kuechly and KPL had like 50 tackles
actually 34, i think
timstwrtmaybe the defensive line is just aiding kuechly's quest for the single-season tackles record?
percDMi'm actually shocked how many tackles kuechly got with the defensive tackles doing so little
timstwrtmaybe the defensive line is just aiding kuechly's quest for the single-season tackles record?
percDMi'm actually shocked how many tackles kuechly got with the defensive tackles doing so little
at some point, it seemed like the northwestern line was looking to get the second level immediately
you know something we had right on the nose?a persa-less northwestern offense would not have much qb mobility
timstwrtwe are expert prognosticators
you've sufficiently doomed me upi hate our team and we'll go 3-9
you winbut at least duke lost to a 1AA team and notre dame lost to USF
so, two wins therepercDMhaha, let's see how i feel on thursday
if i have them beating ucf, then i will have come back around to optimism
the team can come around
if the o-line gels and harris comes backi have no idea what we can do on defense, but i think spaz can figure that out
in a video game, i'd switch to a 3-4
timstwrti know nothing about UCF. i expect little to change in the next couple of days, but i'll be sure to fake it
percDM
ha, i'll read one to two ucf articles
and expert the hell out of it
No comments:
Post a Comment